India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was asked to change his wicketkeeping gloves during his team's tri-series match against Australia on Sunday after pulling off a spectacular catch to dismiss Adam Gilchrist.
Former Australia wicketkeeper Ian Healy, commenting on local television, said the gloves were in breach of the rules because they had extra webbing between the thumb and the forefinger.
Under the sport's regulations, the webbing is not allowed to protrude "beyond the straight line joining the top of the index finger to the top of the thumb".
Dhoni said he had agreed to change his gloves as soon as he was informed that the match referee wanted to inspect them.
"There was no point creating controversy so I said I'll change the gloves," he told a news conference.
Dhoni said he was unaware there was any problem with his gloves as he been using the same type all season.
"It's up to the match referee, I've been using them for quite some time," he said, "It's an exact replica of the ones I was using in the test series so that's all I know about it."