12:00 AM, April 01, 2010 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, April 01, 2010

World Twenty20

Kieswetter, Lumb in Eng squad

Share this with

Copy this link
CricInfo, undated

Uncapped Hampshire batsman Michael Lumb has been named in England's 15-man squad for the World Twenty20 in the Caribbean next month, while Craig Kieswetter has been named as the sole wicketkeeper in the party, ahead of the current Test and ODI incumbent, Matt Prior.
There is also a recall for Ravi Bopara, who has not featured for England since last summer's Ashes but has been starring for Kings XI Punjab in the IPL, as well as the Sussex and former England Lions captain, Michael Yardy, whose slow-left arm spin and innovative middle-order batting could well find a role on the sluggish Caribbean surfaces.
Kieswetter's inclusion in the squad was telegraphed by his hasty inclusion for England's recent tour of Bangladesh, on the strength of a matchwinning half-century for England Lions against the senior side in Abu Dhabi back in February. He went on score a maiden ODI hundred in his third appearance for England at Chittagong.
Lumb, meanwhile, has been gaining valuable experience of Twenty20 cricket with Rajasthan Royals in the IPL, and he could well challenge Bopara as Kieswetter's likely opening partner.
England's seam attack will be led by the fit-again James Anderson and Stuart Broad, with Tim Bresnan a probable inclusion in the starting XI following an impressive winter. Ajmal Shahzad and Ryan Sidebottom complete the pace department, with Sidebottom's inclusion something of a surprise following an injury-ravaged winter.
Jonathan Trott and Joe Denly, who opened the batting for England in their last Twenty20 international, against Pakistan in Dubai last month, have both been omitted. England are drawn in Group D alongside West Indies and Ireland, and their first match against the hosts will be in Guyana on May 3.

Paul Collingwood (captain), James Anderson, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Craig Kieswetter, Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Ajmal Shahzad, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy.

Leave your comments

Share this with

Copy this link