12:00 AM, February 03, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

Delight for Dhaka sides

Delight for Dhaka sides

Sports Reporter

Dhaka Division and Dhaka Metro emerged victorious at the end of the first round of National Cricket League yesterday. Dhaka beat Rangpur by ten wickets at the Shaheed Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi, while Dhaka Metro thumped Chittagong by 127 runs at the Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogra. At the Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium, hosts Khulna and Barisal settled for a draw.
Dhaka's enormous first innings score of 616 for 7 was enough to hold Rangpur as the latter were bundled out twice, once for 315 and then for 309. Dhaka just required nine runs to win and did so in the first over. Dhaka's Mohammad Sharif for his seven wickets and 78 runs was adjudged the player of the match.
In Bogra, chasing a target of 315, Chittagong crumbled for just 188 in their second innings and succumbed to a thrashing defeat. Shahid was adjudged the player of the match for his ten –wicket haul.
In Khulna, chasing a target of 219 on the last day, the home side were restricted to 122 for 5 as the match went on to a draw.

KHULNA: 357 and 114 all out in 51.1 overs (Taposh Ghosh 41; Kamrul 4-31)
BARISAL: 252 and 122 for 5 (Iftekhar Nayeem 39; Dollar Mahmud 2-13)
Result: Match drawn
DHAKA: 616 for 7 dec. and 9 for no loss
RANGPUR: 315 and 309 all out (Ariful Haque 98, Tanvir 95; Mohd Sharif 4-76)
Result: Dhaka won by ten wickets
DHAKA METRO: 221 and 289
CHITTAGONG: 195 and 188 all out (Nafees Iqbal 68, Faisal Hossain 49; Saykat Ali 5-31, Shohid 4-46)
Result: Dhaka Metro won by 127 runs.


Leave your comments