10:53 PM, February 24, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

BNP-backed candidate takes lead in PM's seat

BNP-backed candidate takes lead in PM's seat

Star Online Report

BNP-backed candidate Nur Mohammad Mondal has taken a lead in the battle of ballots in the polls in Pirganj upazila held on Monday as shown in the latest results.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was elected lawmaker from this constituency in 'controversial' 10th parliamentary election. Later the premier left the seat and Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury elected unopposed.

According to the latest results, BNP-backed Nur bagged 76,686 votes in 101 out of total 106 centres while his nearest rival Awami League-blessed candidate Chhayadat Hossain Bakul, polled 66,141 votes.

Chhayadat is also a relative of PM.

Earlier, voting the in the upazila ended peacefully at 4:00 pm amid tight security.

Earlier on Monday BNP alleged that officials of the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) were trying to influence the election to the Pirganj upazila parishad.

“Some officials of the Prime Minister's Office are staying there...a premier's relative is contesting for the chairman post,” BNP Office Secretary Ruhul Kabir Rizvi Ahmed told a press conference in BNP's Naya Paltan central office in the capital. 




Leave your comments