12:00 AM, February 25, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

7 file nominations for Tangail bypoll

7 file nominations for Tangail bypoll

Our Correspondent, Tangail

Seven people so far have submitted nomination papers yesterday for the Tangail-8 (Sakhipur-Basail) by-election, now to be held on March 29.
They are Krishak Shramik Janata League (KSJL) president Abdul Kader Siddique, AL nominated Anupom Shajahan Joy, rebel AL aspirants Abu Sayeed Azad (a college principal) and Abdul Malek Miah (former GM of Bangladesh Bank), Jatiya Party (Ershad) backed Kazi Ashraf Siddique, Jatiya Party (Manju) backed Sadek Siddique and independent candidate Dr Liakat Ali.
Yesterday was the last date for submission of nomination papers.
The parliamentary seat fell vacant after its AL lawmaker Shawkat Momen Shajahan died of cardiac arrest on January 20. Earlier, Shajahan was elected lawmaker from the constituency uncontested on January 5.
AL Parliamentary Board (APB) nominated the late lawmaker's son Anupom Shajahan as per demand of the grassroots party men, party sources said.
The EC earlier deferred the date for March 23 bypoll for the Tangail-8 to March 29.
The decision was taken as the law enforcers would be busy with elections to 93 upazila parishads slated for March 23.
The EC said it shifted the date to help the law enforcers ensure full security during the by-polls.
The date for scrutinising the nomination papers (Feb 26) and withdrawal of nomination papers (March 6), however, will remain unchanged, sources said.


Leave your comments