12:00 AM, March 02, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

19 candidates in four upazilas lose deposits

19 candidates in four upazilas lose deposits

Star Country Desk

Nineteen candidates in four upazilas of Thakurgaon and Lalmonirhat districts have lost their security deposits for failure to get one-eighth of the cast votes in the respective posts in the upazila parishad election held on Thursday.  
Ten out of nineteen candidates for chairman, vice-chairman and vice-chairman (reserved for women) posts in Tentulia upazila of Panchagarh lost their security deposits, reports our Thakurgaon correspondent.
The chairman candidates who lost the deposit are Md Akhtarul Islam (Awami League -AL 'rebel') and Tahmid Milton (Jatiya Party-JP).
The vice-chairman candidates losing deposits are Anwar Hussain, Abdul Latif Khan, Md Sohrab Ali, Nazrul Islam Miah, Mohammad Azimul Haque, and Md Abdus Sattar.
Vice chairman (female) contestants who lost security deposits are Syeda Mashuda and Beauty Begum.
As per election rules, the contestants those who fail to bag one-eighth of the cast votes lose the security deposits, said Md Ali Kabir, returning officer of Panchagarh.
Our Correspondent, Lalmonirhat
Nine candidates in three upazilas under the district have lost their deposits as they got less than one-eighth of the cast votes in the respective posts in Thursday's upazila parishad polls.
In Lalmonirhat Sadar upazila, chairman candidates Nazrul Haque Patwary Bhola (AL), Moksedul Islam (Islami Shashantantra Andolon) and Safiur Rahman (JP-Manju) have lost their deposits.
In Hatibandha upazila, chairman candidate Rezaul Karim Sarker and vice chairman candidate Saberul Islam Patwary, both independent candidates, have lost deposits.
In Patgram upazila, chairman candidates Shahidullah Prodhan (BNP), Habibul Haque Bosuniya (JP), Wazedul Islam Shaheen (AL 'rebel') and vice chairman candidate Ali Azam Ali (JP) have lost the deposits.


Leave your comments