04:32 PM, December 09, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 06:15 PM, December 09, 2018

HC asks EC to accept 6 BNP aspirants' nominations

The commission also asked to accept Imran H Sarker’s nomination

The High Court today directed the Election Commission to accept the nomination papers of six BNP candidates -- an upazila chairman and five municipal mayors -- so that they can contest the upcoming general election.

The candidates are Sarkar Badal, upazila chairman for Bogura-7, municipal mayor Amzad Hossain for Nilphamari-4, Fahmid Foisal Chowdhury for Nilphamari-3, Syed Jahangir Alam for Dinajpur-3, Nazmul Haque for Nagaon-5 and Towhidul Islam for Panchagarh-1.

The HC bench of Justice Sheikh Hassan Arif and Justice Razik-Al-Jalil passed the order filed by the six BNP candidates challenging the EC’s decision cancelling their nomination papers.

Earlier, both the EC and returning officers rejected their nomination papers respectively during appeal hearing and scrutiny as they did not resign from the post of upazila chairman and municipal mayor.


Meanwhile, the High Court upheld the EC decision of cancelling the nomination of BNP candidate Mushfiqur Rahman from B Baria-4 constituency, Additional Attorney General Murad Reza told The Daily Star.

The EC cancelled his nomination as he did not mention his wealth statement in the nomination paper.


The same bench of the HC also directed the EC to accept the nomination paper of Gonojagoron Mancha spokesperson Imran H Sarker and to allow him to contest the 11th parliamentary polls.

The court stayed the Election Commission’s decision of cancelling his nomination paper after hearing a writ petition filed by Imran challenging the EC’s decision.

Imran’s lawyer Barrister Tania Amir said that the returning officer rejected Imran’s nomination paper on the ground that there was a mistake in the serial number of signatures of the voters in the nomination paper.

Imran has collected the signatures of more than one percent voters of the Kurigram-4 constituency, she said.


The 11th general election will be held on December 30.

As per the polls schedule, the deadline for filing the nomination papers was November 28.

The authorities have fixed December 2 for scrutiny and December 9 the last date for nomination withdrawal.

Leave your comments