08:57 PM, January 07, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 09:09 PM, January 07, 2019

Ershad, Raushan miss out oath-taking ceremony

Jatiya Party chairman HM Ershad and leader of the opposition of the 10th parliament Raushan Ershad were not present at the swearing-in ceremony of the new cabinet members at Bangabhaban today.

However, several JP MPs including Fakhrul Imam joined the oath-taking programme.

Jatiya Party Co-chairman GM Quader, who has been appointed deputy opposition leader in the 11th parliament, also did not attend the programme citing that he did not get the invitation card.

GM Quader said Ershad could not join the function at Bangabhaban as he is sick. “But I don't know why madam (Raushan) didn't go to the programme,” he added.

In a statement on January 4, Ershad announced that his party will be the main opposition in the 11th parliament while he will act as the Leader of the Opposition.

Jatiya Party which joined the election as the key partner of the Grand Alliance bagged 22 seats in the December 30 elections.

Leave your comments