06:12 PM, December 30, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 09:57 AM, December 31, 2018

BTRC shuts 3G, 4G again

Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Commission (BTRC) once again asked all the mobile operators to slowed mobile internet by shutting down 3G and 4G services this evening, three hours after restoring the mobile internet.

As per the BTRC’s order issued around 9:00pm, people using the internet on their phones would not be able to stream or upload pictures or videos.

This the third time the telecom regulator shut down the 3G and 4G services in last two days.

BTRC asked mobile operators to restore mobile internet at 6:00pm, just three hours after they directed the operators to block high speed mobile internet across the country, confirmed at least two senior executives of two mobile operators.

However, 2G internet would be available now, according to an e-mail sent to mobile operators by the BTRC's engineering and operations department.

Use of communication apps would also be nearly impossible with the low-speed mobile internet.

As of November, over 6 crore people are currently using the 3G and 4G mobile internet.

The decision must be in effect until further notice, it said.

The BTRC, however, hasn't said anything about broadband services.

According to BTRC data, there were 57.35 lakh broadband connections in November.

During the demonstrations for safe roads in August, the BTRC slowed down internet speed for almost 24 hours.


It is after 10 years that Bangladesh and its people are witnessing an election that is being held in participation of all the major political parties.

The last one held on January 5, 2014, was highly debated both nationally and internationally as it saw no election to more than half of the seats.

A total of 153 constituencies out of the total 300 saw lawmakers elected uncontested – an election which was boycotted by prime opposition BNP.

Sheikh Hasina remained in rule for two consecutive terms with the parliamentary opposition of Jatiya Party, which took part in the cabinet of Awami League.


A total of 10,42,38,677 voters across the country are expected to cast vote throughout the 40,183 polling centres installed across 299 constituencies.

Voting will undergo across the country uninterrupted from 8:00am in the morning to 4:00pm under the supervision of the Election Commission and its 66 returning officers.

Though 39 political parties are contesting in the elections, the main focus is likely to fall on the ruling Awami League and its alliances, including Jatiya Party, and its arch opposition alliance Jatiya Oikyafront which consists of BNP.

Voting is taking place under the administration of running Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

Leave your comments