12:00 AM, December 09, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 06:50 AM, December 09, 2018

Nat'l Polls: CPB to field 74 candidates

The Communist Party of Bangladesh (CPB) yesterday published a list of 74 candidates who will contest in the upcoming national election with party symbol “sickle”.

Party president Mujahidul Islam Selim, announced the names through a press briefing at Mukti Bhaban in Dhaka, says a press release.

“The national election is not simply a formality, but rather a festival,” he said. “The significance of this election is to inform the people about the future plans of political parties.”

CPB has nominated its highest number of candidates this time, Selim said. The party fielded 36 candidates in the ninth general election in 2008, and refrained from joining the 2014 polls. 

The nominated candidates this time include Badiuzzaman Badal (Dinajpur-3), Ashoke Sarker (Khulna-1), Joly Talukder (Netrakona-3), Manobendra Dev (Gazipur-4), Samar Dutta (Munshiganj-1), Abdullah Al Kafi (Cumilla-5), and Abdul Nobi (Chattogram-14).

Leave your comments