Modi gets Sena's support | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, July 20, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:32 AM, July 20, 2018


Modi gets Sena's support

The Shiv Sena will vote in favour of the BJP-led government during the Opposition sponsored no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha today, according to a source close to party chief Uddhav Thackeray.

“We will support the BJP. A formal announcement will be made,” the source told PTI  in Mumbai on Thursday.

The no-trust vote will be the first one since the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government was formed four years ago. Speaker Sumitra Mahajan's decision to accept the motion, moved by former BJP ally TDP and others came on the first day of the monsoon session of parliament on Wednesday.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and Telugu Desam Party president N Chandrababu Naidu has sought the support of other parties for the motion, citing the NDA government's “non-fulfilment of the promise” to grant special status for the State.

Sena leader Sanjay Raut said his party would disclose its stand on the floor of the House. “A decision has been taken. We will let it be known inside the House,” he said.

Under India's Constitution, a no-confidence motion can be moved by any lawmaker and it can be moved only in the Lok Sabha and not Rajya Sabha, the upper House because it is the Lok Sabha which is directly elected by the people.

Rule 198 of the Rules of Procedure and conduct of Lok Sabha specifies the procedure for moving a no-confidence motion. The member has to give a written notice of the motion before 10:00am which will be read out by the Speaker in the House. A minimum of 50 members have to accept the motion and accordingly.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News