Book exhibition and reading competition on Bangabandhu concludes | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, September 03, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 07:58 AM, September 04, 2019

Book exhibition and reading competition on Bangabandhu concludes

The National Book Centre arranged a book exhibition and reading competition at Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy, in observance of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s death anniversary. It was powered by Cultural Ministry of Bangladesh and supported by Academic and Creative Publishers Association of Bangladesh and BAPUS. This is their first event, which concluded on August 29.

50 students, ranging from sixth to tenth graders, from five reputed institutions of Dhaka and Narayanganj, took part in the completion. The institutions included Rajuk Uttara Model College, Narayanganj High School and College, Azimpur Government Girls School and College, Mohammadpur Preparatory School and College and BIAM School and College. They read Bangabandhu’s autobiography Oshomapto Atmajiboni.

The programme was inaugurated by Abu Hena Mustafa Kamal. The chief guests were Nasir Uddin Yusuf, Dr. Kamal Abdul Naser Chowdhury, Selina Hossain, Nirmalendu Goon, Dr Mohammad Zafar Iqbal and K M Khaled (MP), respectively. Minar Mansur, the director of National Book Center, concluded each day with a speech.

The event aimed to encourage the students to read more books and enhance their knowledge of Bangladeshi literature and history.

Abrar Mahmud Hasan (BIAM School and College) won the first prize, ‘Rabindra Shamagra’. Afia Farzana (Azimpur Government Girls School and College), Nafis Raiyan Mridha (Mohammadpur Preparatory School and College), and Raiyan Tousifur Rahman (BIAM School and College) jointly won the second prize, ‘Nazrul Shamagra’. Maisha Mrittika Habib won the third prize, ‘Jibonanda Das Rochonabali’. They also gave Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s ‘Karagarer Rojnamcha’ and ‘Ekattorer Dinguli’ by Jahanara Imam as special prizes to the rest of the 45 participants. Bangabandhu’s Oshampto Atmajiboni was distributed to all the participants.

The jury of the competition consisted of Syed Ishtiaque Reza (Editor in Chief, Gazi Television), Chitralekha Guha (Actor) and Tushar Abdullah (Director and Head of News, Somoy Television).

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News