Ben becomes world’s best | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, January 16, 2020 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:06 AM, January 16, 2020

Ben becomes world’s best

No awards for Bangladesh players

Ben Stokes was Wednesday named the International Cricket Council player of the year, capping an unforgettable 2019 for the swashbuckling England all-rounder that included a match-winning knock at the World Cup.

The Bangladesh cricket team had a disappointing 2019 and none of the Bangladesh players found a place amongst the list of awardees.

Stokes, who kept his nerve to smash an unbeaten 84 in the final against New Zealand, aggregated 719 runs and bagged 12 wickets in 20 ODIs during the voting period. He also scored 821 runs and took 22 wickets in 11 Tests, the highlight being an unbeaten 135 to win a nail-biting Ashes thriller in Leeds. “To be recognised and be the person to win that (award) it’s pretty amazing,” he said in a video statement.

“This award is testament to my teammates and the support staff that have been there every step of the way.”

Australia fast bowler Pat Cummins was named the Test Player of the Year.

Indian opener Rohit Sharma was named the ODI Cricketer of the Year while captain Virat Kohli bagged the Spirit of Cricket award for his gesture to stop fans from booing Australia’s Steve Smith during a World Cup match.

Smith was returning to international cricket from a one-year suspension for changing the condition of the ball.

“I’m surprised that I have got it, after many years of being under the scanner for the wrong things,” Kohli said in a statement put out by ICC.

“That moment was purely understanding an individual’s situation. I don’t think a guy who is coming out of a situation like that needs to be taken advantage of.”

India pacer Deepak Chahar won T20I Performance of the Year for his six for seven against Bangladesh in the recent series at home.


Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Best Cricketer of the Year: Ben Stokes (England)

Test Cricketer of the Year: Pat Cummins (Australia)

ODI Cricketer of the Year: Rohit Sharma (India)

T20I Performance of the Year: Deepak Chahar (India, 6-7 v Bangladesh)

Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)

Associate Cricketer of the Year:  Kyle Coetzer (Scotland)

Spirit of Cricket Award: Virat Kohli stopping the fans booing Steve Smith at The Oval.

David Shepherd Trophy for Umpire of the Year: Richard Illingworth

ICC Test Team of the Year (in batting order): Mayank Agarwal, Tom Latham, Marnus Labuschagne, Virat Kohli (captain), Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Neil Wagner, Nathan Lyon.

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):  Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope, Virat Kohli (captain), Babar Azam, Kane Williamson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News