Victoria move up to second | The Daily Star
02:41 PM, June 04, 2016 / LAST MODIFIED: 07:21 PM, June 04, 2016

DPL 2016

Victoria move up to second

Victoria Sporting Club vs Brothers Union

Victoria Sporting Club moved up to the second spot in the points table after they vanquished Brothers Union by 112 runs at Mirpur today. Chasing 303, Brothers bundled out for 190 runs in 45.3 overs.

Brothers got off to horror start, and were hobbling at 8-92 inside 27 overs. Tushar Imran kept one end secured with his 93 from 126 balls. He struck 11 fours in his knock. Asif Hasan was the second highest scorer for Brothers with a patient 23 off 52. Victoria bowlers were on the money from the onset, with Mahbubul Alam picking up 3-33 in 9.3 overs. Kamrul islam Rabbi and Al-Amin took two wickets each.

Earlier, Victoria Sporting Club rode on opener Abdul Mazid’s remarkable century to pile 302 for 9 in 50 overs against Brothers Union after their skipper Nadif Chowdhury opted to bat first at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur.

Abdul Mazid smashed his maiden ton of DPL 2016, scored 118 from 117 balls with 11 fours and four hits over the fence. With Fazle Mahmud at his side, Mazid kept Brothers Union at bay with a 170-run stand for the opening wicket. Brothers came back late in the innings with Nabil Samad and Iftekhar Sajjad taking crucial wickets to stall Victoria.

Nabil picked up his second four-for in the ongoing DPL with 4-50 in 10 overs. Iftekhar and Asif Hasan took two wickets each.

Mohammedan Sporting Club vs Kalabagan Krira Chakra

Mohammedan slipped to fourth place in the points table after were condemned to a six-wicket defeat by Kalabagan Krira Chakra at Fatullah.

Chasing the stiff target of 291, Kalabagan rode on Tasamul Haque maiden century in DPL 2016 to reach home in 43.1 overs for the loss of four wickets. Tasamul was unbeaten on 126 from 129 balls. His match-winning knock contained eight fours and two sixes. Tanveer Haider chipped in with 52 late in the innings to deny Mohammedan.

Earlier, Mohammedan captain Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss against Kalabagan Krira Chakra led by Mashrafe Mortaza and decided to bat first at Fatullah. Bipul Sharma blasted a 86-ball century to propel Mohammedan to 290 for 6 in 50 overs.

Bipul came to bat after the fall of the third wicket and immediately took the attack to the Kalabagan bowlers. He smacked six fours and eight sixes to the delight of his teammates at the dug-out. Mushfiqur reached his third 50-plus of DPL 2016 with 75 runs today. He faced 71 balls and struck five fours and two maximums in his pacy knock.

For Kalabagan, Dewan Sabbir was the most successful bowler with three wickets to his name. However, he gave away 77 runs in nine overs. Abdur Razzak, Shahbaz Chouhan and Tanveer Haider grabbed a wicket each.

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club vs Legends of Rupganj

Legends of Rupganj registered their sixth win in ten games when they pipped Sheikh Jamal quite comfortably by seven wickets with 103 balls in the bag. Chasing 185, Nahidul Islam’s 92 and Junaid Siddique’s unbeaten 53 took Rupganj to their target without much fuss. The third-wicket stand of 125 runs for Rupganj kept Sheikh Jamal bowlers at bay.

For Sheikh Jamal, Masud Rana, Mahmudullah and Abdur Rahman captured a wicket each.

Earlier at BKSP No.3 ground, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club led by Mahmudullah found themselves in choppy waters almost immediately after Legends of Rupganj skipper Asif Ahmed invited them to bat first. Sheikh Jamal managed to post 184 on the board after they were all out in 45 overs.

Rupganj bowler Alauddin Babu rocked Sheikh Jamal early with two wickets, and afterwards Murad Khan and Taijul Islam did the damage with six wickets between themselves. Murad had 3-48 while Taijul picked up 3-29 in 10 overs.

Scores in brief

Victoria Sporting Club: 302 for 9 in 50 overs (Mazid 118, Mahmud 71, Nabil4-50)

Brothers Union: 190 all out in 45.3 overs (Tushar 93, Asif 23, Mahbubul 3-33)

Result: Victoria Sporting Club won by 112 runs

Mohammedan Sporting Club: 290 for 6 in 50 overs (Bipul 100, Mushfiqur 75, Nabil 3-77)

Kalabagan Krira Chakra: 291 for 4 in 43.1 overs (Tasamul 126, Hasanuzzaman 95, Naeem 2-35)

Result: Kalabagan Krira Chakra won by 6 wickets (with 41 balls remaining)

Sheikh Jamal: 184 all out in 45 overs (Nazmus 41, Mahmudullah 35, Taijul 3-29)

Legends of Rupganj: 185 for 3 in 32.5 overs (Nahidul 92, Junaid 53*, Rahman 1-17)

Result: Legends of Rupganj won by 7 wickets (with 103 balls remaining)

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News