BCB announces squad for Women’s T20 Asia Cup

Bangladesh women’s team players pose with the trophy after beating Ireland in the final of the ICC Women's T20 World Cup Qualifiers at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Sunday. PHOTO: ICC

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a 15-member squad for the Women's T20 Asia Cup, to be held in Sylhet from October 1 to 15. 

The hosts, led by Nigar Sultana Joty, will play in the opening fixture of the competition against Thailand at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium Ground 2 (SICS Outer).

Bangladesh are the defending champions of the tournament, having won the previous edition of the Asia Cup in 2018 in Malaysia.

Seven teams – India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Thailand, Malaysia, and UAE—will participate in the eighth edition of the tournament.
The tournament will serve as a preparation for the T20 World Cup, to be played in South Africa early next year.

UAE and Malaysia qualified for the tournament by reaching the final of the 2022 ACC Women's T20 Championship, which was played in June 2022 in Malaysia.

SQUAD: Nigar Sultana Joty (Captain), Shamima Sultana, Fargana Hoque Pinky, Rumana Ahmed, Ritu Moni, Lata Mondol, Salma Khatun, Sobhana Mostary, Nahida Akter, Murshida Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Fahima Khatun, Shanjida Akther Maghla, Fariha Islam Trisna and Shohaly Akter.
Stand by: Marufa Akhter, Sharmin Akter Supta, Nuzhat Tasnia and Rabeya Khan.