DPL kicks off today | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, February 05, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:50 AM, February 05, 2018

DPL kicks off today

Bangladesh's most coveted domestic one-day tournament, the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League, will get underway today at three different venues across the city. A bit of the sheen will be missing as the 12 clubs will start battle without the national cricketers who are currently engaged in a two-Test series against Sri Lanka.

The 2018 edition of the prestigious tournament will kick off with defending champions Gazi Group Cricketers taking on the newly promoted Agrani Bank Cricket Club at the BKSP-3, while Prime Doleshwar Cricket Club will take on the other newcomers Shinepukur Cricket Club at nearby BKSP-4. At the other end of town, in Fatullah, giants Abahani Ltd will lock horns with Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity.

On the eve of the league's start yesterday, there was a seismic shift as Bangladesh ODI skipper and Shinepukur icon player Mashrafe Bin Mortaza was transferred to Abahani as the clubs utilised a clause that allows exchange of players on mutual understanding before the league. Hasan Mahmud moved in the other direction while Anamul Haque was transferred from Abahani to Khelaghar.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News