5 JS seats now vacant

Says Speaker following resignation of BNP lawmakers

The seats of five BNP lawmakers in parliament are now vacant as they have submitted their resignation letters in person, Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury said today.

"I have received the resignation letters of seven BNP lawmakers. Of them, five came here in person [to submit resignation letters]," she told reporters at her office at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban.

The five are: Zahidur Rahman (Thakurgaon-3), Gulam Mohammad Siraj (Bogura-6), Mosharof Hosen (Bogura-4), Aminul Islam (Chapainawabganj-2) and Rumeen Farhana, MP from a seat reserved for women.

About the other two BNP MPs -- Harunur Rashid (Chapainawabganj-3) and Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan (Brahmanbaria-2), the Speaker said one of them is sick and the other is now abroad.

"Harunur Rashid sent his resignation letter via email. His signature was scanned and affixed [to the resignation letter]. It will not be accepted, he will have to submit his resignation letter again."

About Sattar's resignation letter, the Speaker said his signature will be verified and the Parliament Secretariat will enquire whether he submitted the resignation letter or not.

Referring to the relevant section of the constitution, the Speaker said there is no obligation for a lawmaker to submit the resignation letter in person.

Sources at the Parliament Secretariat said the parliament will issue a gazette notification on the vacant seats today.

At yesterday's rally in the city's Golapbagh field, the BNP announced the resignation of its MPs as per the decision of the party's standing committee.


৪৮ মিনিট আগে|শিক্ষা

‘চলমান মেগা প্রকল্পগুলো শেষ হলে, শিক্ষাখাতে মেগাপ্রকল্প শুরু করা যাবে’

শিক্ষামন্ত্রী দীপু মনি বলেছেন, 'আমাদের যে মেগা প্রকল্পগুলো চলছে, সেগুলোর কাজ শেষ হলে আমি বিশ্বাস করি শিক্ষাখাতে মেগা প্রকল্পের কাজ শুরু করা যাবে। শিক্ষাই হবে আমাদের মেগাপ্রজেক্ট।'