Prominent among who withdraw | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, December 12, 2008 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, December 12, 2008

Election 2008

Prominent among who withdraw

A large number candidates, mostly 'rebels' and 'reformists' of different parties withdrew their nomination papers across the country yesterday, the last date for withdrawal.
Quite a few leaders of Liberal Democratic Party and independent candidates also withdrew their nomination papers.
Among the well-known persons who withdrew are: BNP 'reformist' and former education minister Dr Osman Farruk from Kishoreganj, LDP Secretary General Prof Jahanara Begum from Rajbari, former speaker and LDP candidate Sheikh Razzak Ali from Khulna, former minister and LDP leader Moni Swapan Dewan from Rangamati, BNP reformist Mosharef Hossain Shahjahan from Bhola, Awami League (AL) rebel candidate Panchanan Biswas from Khulna and BNP reformist Mosharraf Hossain Mongu from Barisal.
Jamaat leader Mir Kashem Ali and Communist Party of Bangladesh (CPB) President Monjurul Ahsan Khan also withdrew their nominations from Dhaka.
Jamalpur: Five candidates out of 29 yesterday withdrew their nomination papers in Jamalpur. They include: AL rebel candidate Ishtiaque Hossain Didar who submitted nomination as independent candidate in Jamalpur-1, former state minister Maulana M Nurul Islam -also an independent in Jamalpur-4, and AL rebel and independent candidate Engineer M Mozaffar Hossain.
Pabna: Four candidates including two JP and one LDP men withdrew their nomination papers in Pubna district. LDP candidate Ismat Jerin Khan withdrew her nomination paper in Pabna-2 constituency (Sujanagar-Bera).
Rajbari: Five candidates withdrew their nomination in two constituencies in Rajbari. LDP Secretary General Prof Jahanara Begum withdrew her nominations from both Rajbari-1 and 2 constituencies.
Rangamati: Two candidates including LDP leader Moni Swapan Dewan withdrew their nominations.
Bandarban: JP nominee Kew Swe Aong withdrew his nomination paper in the seat.
Khagrachhari: Four candidates withdrew their nomination papers in Khagrachhari.
Natore: Six candidates including leaders of Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh (BDB), Jamaat-e-Islami, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) and independent candidates withdrew their nominations.
Chandpur: Nine candidates out of 49 withdrew their nominations in five constituencies in Chandpur district.
Satkhira: Three contestants- one each from AL, BNP and Workers Party- withdrew their candidature as per party direction. Former AL lawmaker AK Fazlul Haque withdrew his nomination from Satkhira-4 (Shyamnagar and eight unions in Kaliganj upazila).
Faridpur: Four candidates in Faridpur withdrew their nominations. They are: AL rebel candidate Begum Saleha Mosharraf from Faridpur-4, JP candidate Joynal Abedin Bakul from Faridpur-2, LDP candidate Liakat Hosen Hiru and Tarikot Federation candidate Iqbal Hosen Khan from Faridpur -4.
Cox's Bazar: Four candidates including two Jamaat and two BNP rebels withdrew nominations from four constituencies in Cox's Bazar.
Kurigram: Seven candidates from all constituencies of Kurigram district withdrew their nomination papers. Of them, three candidates are of AL, one of Khelafat Majlish and three independent. AL leaders Golam Mostafa of Kurigram-1 (Bhurungamari & Nageswari), Jafor Ali of Kurigram-2 (Sadar, Fulbari & three unions of Rajarhat), and Nasima Banu of Kurigram-3 (Ulipur & four unions of Rajarhat) withdrew their nominations.
Mymensingh: 12 persons including Gono Forum, JP, Jamaat, Workers Party and independent candidates withdrew their candidature. Now 61 candidates are running in 11 constituencies of the district.
Bogra Nine candidates including two Jamaat leaders Nazir Ahmed from Bogra-4 and Rostom Ali from Bogra-5 withdrew their nomination papers.
Besides, AL reformist candidate Mahmudur Rahman Manna for Bogra-2 (Shibganj) withdrew his nomination papers. Former lawmaker and AL candidate Kamrun Nahar Putul also withdrew her nomination papers for Bogra-7 (Gabtoli) constituency.
Gopalganj: JP candidate Gour Chandra Biswas, who filed nomination paper in Gopalganj-3 against AL President Sheikh Hasina, withdrew his nomination.
Brahmanbaria: Two candidates out of 43 withdrew their nomination papers. They include JP leader M Amzad Hossain who withdrew his nomination in Brahmanbaria-6 constituency.
Chapainawabganj: Five candidates including Jamaat leader M Nazrul Islam and JP leader Nazrul Islam from Chapainawabganj-1 withdrew their nomination papers.
Barisal Division: Nomination papers of 16 candidates were withdrawn in Barisal division including 13 in Barisal, two in Barguna and one in Bhola.
Workers Party President Rashed Khan Menon withdrew his nomination in Barisal-2 while independent candidate Mosharraf Hossain Mongu who won four time from BNP withdrew nomination from Barisal 3.
BNP rebel leader Brig Anwar Hossain Chowdhury who submitted as independent withdrew nomination while another BNP rebel and former state minister Mosharef Hossain Shahjahan withdrew his nomination from Bhola-1.
Thakurgaon: Seven candidates of different political parties withdrew their candidature. Among them, AL leader Imdadul Haque withdrew his nomination.
Rajshahi: At least 13 aspirants withdrew their candidature in six constituencies in Rajshahi. AL leader Prof Abdul Khaleque withdrew confirming the electoral race between grand alliance's Fazle Hossain Badsha and BNP's Mizanur Rahman Minu in Rajshahi-2 constituency.
AL leader Rahenul Haque withdrew in Rajshahi-6 constituency while Jamaat candidates Ataur Rahman and Abdul Ahad withdrew in Rajshahi-2 and Rajshahi-4 constituencies. JP nominees at all the six constituencies withdrew their candidature.
Khulna: Seven candidates out of 39 in six constituencies of Khulna district withdrew their nomination papers. AL leader Panchanan Biswas, and former speaker and LDP candidates Shaikh Razzak Ali are among them.
Kushtia: Nine candidates withdrew their nomination papers from different constituencies in the district. Of them, three are from Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD), two independent and one each from Jamaat, Workers Party, Jatiya Party (JP-Ershad) and Ganotantri Party.
Jamaat district Ameer Abdul Wahid submitted nomination paper in Kushtia-2, former BNP lawmaker Abdur Rouf Choudhury from Kushtia-2 and Kushtia-3, while BNP leader Ali Askar Koreishi from Kushtia-3. All withdrew their nomination papers.
JP Kushtia district convener Advocate Mia Mohammad Rezaul Haq withdrew in Kushtia-3, Workers party central leader Noor Ahmed Bokul in Kushtia-3, JSD leader Kudrat-E-Khoda from Kushtia-1, Golam Mohsin from Kushtia 3 and Mafizul Islam from Kushtia-4.
Sylhet: Seven candidates including AL rebel candidates Muhibur Rahman, Syed Rafiqul Haque, Abdul Awal and Matiur Rahman withdrew their nomination papers.
Kishoreganj: Former education minister and BNP reformist leader Dr Osman Farruk who filed nomination as independent candidate withdrew his nomination in Kishoreganj.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News