Local Snippets | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, February 14, 2012 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, February 14, 2012

Local Snippets

PWD Sporting Club and Bangladesh Police AC won their respective matches of the Destiny Group Dhaka Metropolis 2nd Division Football League yesterday.
PWD defeated Matual Udoyan Sangshad by 2-0 goals at the Birshreshtha Shahid Mostafa Kamal Stadium, with goals from Salauddin Rubel and Humayun Kabir.
In the other match, Police eased past Prantic KC 3-0. Kabirul Islam, Kamrul Hasan scored for Police with the other being an own goal.
Women's handball
Mohammedan SC earned their second consecutive victory in the Cute Metropolis First Division Women's Handball Super League beating RN Sports Home by 23-17 goals at the National Handball Stadium yesterday.
Mohammedan SC led the first half by 9-8 goals.
Tripti scored nine goals and Dalia netted six for the winners while Khaleda netted 10 and Nisu four for the losing side.
MSC hockey committee
Mohammedan Sporting Club Ltd formed a 17-member hockey committee for 2011-2012 season with Safiullah Al Monir and Abu Sayem Shahin elected chairman and secretary respectively.
Mizanur Rahman and Syed Moinul Islam were named vice presidents while 13 other including former national hockey players Ariful Haq Prince, Moududur Rahman Shuvo were named members.
School Hockey
Fatullah Pilot High School recorded a 3-2 win over Suvadya High School in the Shah Sports 2nd Dhaka Metropolis School Hockey Tournament at the Maulana Bhasani National Hockey Stadium yesterday.
Suvadya High School led the first half 2-1 but Fatullah bounced back in the second half to level the margin through Faruk, who also struck the winner. The other goal was scored by Pappu while Sohel and Rabbi netted for the losing side.
School Football
Five more schools moved into the next round of the National School Football Islami Bank Tournament after emerging champions in their respective Upazilas yesterday.
Purupadi Rajbihari High School defeated Madhukhali Pilot High School 3-2 to become Modhukhali Upazila champions, Hiradanga High School blanked Maulanabad High School 4-0 to emerge Jhenaidah Sadar champions, Kailashganj High School beat Chalna KC High School 4-3 in tiebreaker to clinch Dacope Upazila champions, Hat Bakoil School thrashed Nachol Rajbari School 2-0 to become Nachol champions and Laxmiganj High School defeated Datta High School in tiebreaker to become Netrokona Sadar Upazila champions.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone and Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News