All matches get winners | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, October 27, 2011 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, October 27, 2011

Walton National Cricket League 2011-12

All matches get winners

All second round matches of the 13th National Cricket League produced results as Chittagong posted a six-wicket victory over Sylhet on the final day of the four-day match at BKSP yesterday.
After Dhaka Metro, Rajshahi and Khulna, it was Chittagong coming through with maximum points in the second round to continue their winning spree thanks to their impressive bowling effort on the final day which dashed Sylhet's hope of sharing the points.
On their way to draw the match, Sylhet had a good start in the morning of the final day after resuming the day on 51 for no loss as Imtiaz Hossain and Sayem Alam batted patiently before the latter offered a return catch to Nur Hossain to put an end to the 83-run opening partnership.
The departure of Sayem paved the way for Chittagong to make sure that wickets fell like ninepins as Sylhet lost five wickets for 16 runs. Finally, the resistance came from number eight batsman Ezaj Ahmed, the first-round centurion, who made 50 off 79 balls featuring six boundaries, but his effort was not good enough to save the match.
Kazi Kamrul, Nur Hossain and Faisal Hossain all picked up three wickets each to wrap up Sylhet's second innings for 183 runs to set a mere 29-run winning target for their side.
Chasing the paltry target, the Chittagong top order also stumbled as they lost four wickets for 13 runs but Aftab Ahmed smote two sixes and a boundary during his unbeaten 7-ball 16 to confirm the victory. Chittagong scored 31 for 4 in their second innings in 13.4 overs. Kazi Kamrul was the other not out batsman with an 18-ball 6.
Enamul Haque and Saker Ahmed took two wickets each.
Nafis Iqbal was adjudged man of the match for his hundred.
The third round will start from October 30.
First innings 270-9dec and second innings (overnight 51-0) 183 all out in 60.5 overs (Imtiaz 39, Sayem 35, Ezaj 50; Kamrul 3-46, Nur 3-70, Faisal 3-17).
CHITTAGONG: First innings 425-9dec and second innings 31-4 in 13.4 overs (Kamrul 6 not out, Aftab 16 not out; Enamul 2-9, Saker 2-20).
Result: Chittagong won by six wickets

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News