Focus on bowlers | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, August 04, 2010 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, August 04, 2010

Focus on bowlers

BCB call up 21 cricketers

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has called up twenty-one cricketers for a conditioning camp that will start from today at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur.
The selected players have been asked to report to the national team's assistant coach Khaled Mahmud at 2:30pm at Mirpur.
Most of the national cricketers are now enjoying holidays after an arduous season and they will be back to business when a preparation camp with a preliminary squad will kick off for the 2011 World Cup.
"Basically the board arranged the camp for the players who were out of the national team and as well as players like Mohammad Ashraful who didn't play enough match in the last few tours," said former national captain Mahmud.
"We will mainly focus on the fitness but work on the skill as well, especially with the bowlers. Our bowling has been struggling in the last couple of series and I believe this was because of the inexperience.
"We have to work hard for a long period of time to improve the bowling. All the bowlers are talented but they haven't had enough international experience to cope up with the pressure," he said adding that the preparation camp for the national cricketers is likely to start from August 20.
BCB's cricket operations committee chairman Enayet Hossain Siraj informed yesterday that they will take a decision on the probables after the return of coach Jamie Siddons, who is enjoying a vacation in Australia.
One of the national selectors however said that they gave the probable names more than a month back.
"We may start the camp for the World Cup with twenty-five selected cricketers. The decision will be taken after return of the national coach," said Siraj.
The selected cricketers for the conditioning camp are Mohammad Ashraful, Rokibul Hasan, Mehrab Hossain, Naeem Islam, Alok Kapali, Shahriar Nafees, Shahadat Hossain, Enamul Haque, Mahbubul Alam, Dollar Mahmud, Nazimuddin, Sohrawordi Shuvo, Talha Jubaer, Rabiul Islam, Sahagir Hossain, Farhad Hossain, Saqlain Sajib, Shamsur Rahman, Elias Sunny, Marshall Ayub and Kamrul Islam.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone and Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News