Delwar stays secy general | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, January 02, 2010 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, January 02, 2010

Delwar stays secy general

Salam Pintu vice president in BNP's central executive committee; JCD body declared

BNP last night disclosed the names of all 386 members of its central executive committee, 22 days after holding the party's national council.
Khandaker Delwar Hossain, who was asked at the national council to continue as the party secretary general until fresh election to the post, was confirmed to the position.
The BNP also announced a 32-member advisory council to the chairperson.
A number of new faces including Mosaddak Ali Falu, Jatiya Press Club President Shawkat Mahmud, former secretary Sabihuddin Ahmed, Zahid Hossain, Saeed Iskander and Abdul Awal Mintoo have been made advisers to the BNP chairperson.
The executive committee also has got many new faces. But it also has a number of controversial leaders like Abdus Salam Pintu and Nasiruddin Ahmed Pintu. Salam Pintu, an accused in the August 21 grenade attack case, has been made a vice-president.
Of the 17 vice-presidents, names of 15 were announced and they included 12 fresh faces.
Meanwhile, BNP's student wing Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal also declared its 171-member central committee yesterday, excluding rebel leaders and activists. But it did not mention the tenure for the committee.
Many leaders who were arrested on corruption charges during the rule of the last caretaker government and those who were active in party activities have been rewarded in the newly announced executive committee of BNP. Many former leaders of JCD have been included in the committee.
Leaders known as reformists like Chowdhury Kamal Ibne Yusuf, Hafizuddin Ahmed, Sadeque Hossain Khoka and Emran Saleh Prince have also been kept in the committee.
BNP's newly elected Senior Joint Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir formally announced the executive committee at the chairperson's Gulshan office.
The full committee is comprised of Chairperson Khaleda Zia, Senior Vice-Chairman Tarique Rahman, vice-chairmen Justice TH Khan, M Morshed Khan, Shah Moazzem Hossain, Rabeya Chowdhury, Air Vice Marshal (retd) Altaf Hossain Chowdhury, Harun-or-Rashid, Abdullah Al Noman, Chowdhury Kamal Ibne Yusuf, Selima Rahman, Maj (retd) Hafizuddin Ahmed, Sadeque Hossain Khoka, Kazi Shah Mofazzel Hossian Kaikobad, Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury, Razia Fayez and Abdus Salam Pintu, Senior Joint Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir and Treasurer Abdul Mannan.
The seven joint secretaries general of BNP are Amanullah Aman, Mizanur Rahman Minu, Barkatullah Bulu, Mohmmad Shahjahan, Salahuddin Ahmed, barrister Mahbubuddin Khokon and Ruhul Kabir Rizvi.
The elected six divisional organising secretaries are Fazlul Huq Milon for Dhaka, Golam Akbar Khandaker for Chittagong, Mashiur Rahman for Khulna, Harunur Rashid for Rajshahi, Mojibur Rahman Sarwar for Barisal and Ilias Ali for Sylhet.
Nadim Mostafa has been made the secretary on special duty and Zainul Abdin Farroque the publicity secretary.
Giasuddin Quader Chowdhury, Dr Asaduzzaman Ripon, Lutfor Rahman Khan Azad, Mir M Nasiruddin, Ehsanul Haque Milon, Zakaria Taher Suman and Kamruddin Ahmed have been elected the BNP's international affairs secretaries.
The names of 265 executive committee members were also declared yesterday.
The declared chairperson's advisory council consists of Khandaker Mahbubuddin Ahmad, Harunur Rashid Munnu, Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury, Reaz Rahman, Shahjahan Omar, Mahmudul Hasan, Saeed Iskander, Osman Farrukh, Ukil Abdus Sattar, Abdul Mannan, Fazlur Rahman Patal, Mosaddak Ali Falu, Mosharraf Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahman, Enam Ahmed Chowdhury, Abdul Awal Mintoo, Khandaker Mahbub Hossain, AJ Mohammad Ali, Nurul Islam, Majedul Islam, Ahmed Azam Khan, Shamsuzzaman Dudu, Adbul Halim, Maj Gen (retd) Ruhul Alam, Sabihuddin Ahmed, Shawkat Mammud, Zahurul Islam, Haidar Ali, MA Qaiyum, Khandaker Shahidul Alam, Sujauddin and Zahid Hossain.
Earlier on December 13, the names of 19 members of the BNP national standing committee and eight joint secretaries general, including the senior joint secretary general of the national executive committee, were announced. Khandaker Delwar was asked to continue as the secretary general at that time.
BNP councillors at the national council on December 8 empowered Khaleda, who was reelected the party chairperson unopposed, to elect the members of the standing committee, national executive committee and other bodies.
A press release of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal said Sultan Salauddin Tuku was made the president and Amirul Islam Alim the general secretary of the committee.
BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia approved the committee and called upon JCD leaders and activists to work under the leadership of the declared committee, reads the press release.
On July 1, 2009, a five-member partial committee of JCD was declared for a tenure of six months. Positions of the five members remained unchanged in the new committee.
Following formation of the five-member committee, a section of JCD leaders and activists rebelled and declared the five central leaders persona non grata on Dhaka University campus.
JCD leaders in the new committee are JCD Senior Vice-President Shahidul Islam Babul, vice-presidents Haider Ali, Dulal Hossain, Omar Faruk, Bazlul Karim Chowdhury, Abu Bakar Siddique, Yasin Ali, Mohammad Saiful Islam, Rafiqul Islam Rassel, Sheikh Mohammad Shameem, Sarafat Hossain (Dhaka division), Mahmudunnobi Swapan (Rajshahi division), Ashraful Islam (Khulna division), Parvez Akan (Barisal division), Ahmedul Kabir (Chittagong division) and Siddiqur Rahman (Sylhet division), joint secretaries Amiruzzaman Khan Shimul, Anwarul Haque, Abu Sayeed, Shahidullah Imran and Anwar Hossain, organising secretaries Anisur Rahman Khokan and Anisur Rahman Talukder, office secretary Billal Hossain, publicity secretary Rajib Ahsan, literature and publication secretary SM Jahangir, international affairs secretary Monirul Islam Shohag and student affairs secretary Monira Akhter.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News