No committee formed in Galachipa AL council | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, November 24, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, November 24, 2019

No committee formed in Galachipa AL council

Thakurgaon municipality council today

The council of Galachipa upazila unit of Awami League ended in the upazila town on Friday without announcement of any committee for the unit.

AL’s Patuakhali unit General Secretary Kazi Alamgir Hossain said the council meeting was held in a peaceful manner.

However, after the local lawmaker’s name was proposed for the post of Galachipa unit president, contradicting directives from the party’s central command, they adjourned the meeting without announcing the committee, he added. 

A section of supporters of the local lawmaker, SM Shahjada of Patuakhali-3 (Galachipa-Dashmina), proposed his name in the evening session of the meeting.

A total of five names were also proposed for the general secretary post during the same session, reports our correspondent in Patuakhali. 

On November 15 in Dhaka, AL General Secretary Obaidul Quader during a press briefing at the AL president’s Dhanmondi political office urged members of parliament not to contest the party’s upazila councils for president and general secretary posts.

AL President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has already given an instruction in this regard so the MPs do not contest in the AL upazila councils, Quader said, adding that the MPs will be able to compete for posts in the AL district councils.

On Friday, the council of AL Galachipa upazila unit was inaugurated around 10:30am by Advocate Afzal Hossain, information and research secretary of AL. 

Santosh Dey, president of AL’s Galachipa unit, presided over the programme while Advocate Shahjahan Mia, Patuakhali-1 lawmaker and also president of AL’s Patuakhali district unit, was the chief guest. 

This correspondent was unable to reach lawmaker SM Shahjada for his comments as several calls made on his cell phone went unanswered.



AL’s Thakurgaon municipality unit is scheduled to hold its council today. The last council of the unit was held seven years ago.

The programme will be held at Zila Parishad Auditorium in the town, our Thakurgaon correspondent reports.

Thakurgaon-1 lawmaker Ramesh Chandra Sen, also a presidium member of AL, is likely to attend the council as the chief guest.

Nazrul Islam, the incumbent president of the unit, said 288 councillors will take part in the council. 

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News