Faridpur-4: AL, independent candidates dominate campaign | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, December 21, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:39 AM, December 21, 2018

Faridpur-4: AL, independent candidates dominate campaign

An independent candidate appears to be the main challenger among four contestants for the Awami League (AL) candidate in Faridpur-4 constituency (Bhanga, Charbhadrasan and Sadarpur upazilas, except Krishnapur union).

AL's Kazi Zafar Ullah, BNP's Khandakar Iqbal Hossain Selim, Communist Party of Bangladesh's (CPB) Ataur Rahman, Islami Andalon Bangladesh's (IAB) Abdul Hamid Mia and independent candidate Mujibur Rahman Chowdhury are contesting from Faridpur-4.

Zafar, Selim, Ataur and Mujibur hail from Bhanga upazila and Hamid is from Sadarpur upazila.

Zafar, presidium member of AL and also former lawmaker, is looking to regain this constituency as his uncle and his (Zafar's) wife are former MPs from the constituency. He lost the seat in the 10th parliamentary election as Mujibur won as an independent candidate in 2014.

Mujibur is looking for a second successive win from this constituency. He was elected MP as an independent candidate in the national election in 2014, defeating AL nominated candidate Zafar.

Locals believe that the election race will take place between Zafar and Mujibur as the other candidates are not as active as they are.

Conflicts between supporters of Zafar and Mujibur started from December 10. At least 33 supporters of the two candidates were injured in separate clashes during election campaigns and six election campaign offices of both the parties were vandalised.

“We are not involved in any kind of clash with others. Supporters of the AL candidate attacked us and vandalised our election campaign offices. Our leader told us to be patient,” said Bhanga Upazila Parishad Chariman Sahadat Hossain, a supporter of Mujibur.

“Supporters of Mujibur attacked us first and we protested. All the people of this constituency are working for 'boat' and we will win the polls," said Organising Secretary of AL Bhanga unit Soban Munshi.

“Both Zafar and Mujibur are running their election campaigns very actively and the main fight will take place between them,” said Ajoy Das, a lecturer at Bhanga Mohila College.

“I shall vote for the first time in an election. Here, the fight will take place between AL candidate and the independent candidate,” said Sumaya Mahamud of Dowra village under Bhanga upazila.

Leave your comments