AL nominees face 16 rebel candidates in 7 Pabna UZs | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, March 17, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:06 AM, March 17, 2019

AL nominees face 16 rebel candidates in 7 Pabna UZs

The ruling Awami League nominated upazila parishad chairman candidates in seven upazilas of the district are facing 16 intra-party 'rebel' contestants in the upazila parishad elections slated for tomorrow.

AL leaders and activists are divided in the election campaign amid the presence of quite a few rebel candidates.

“Awami League central committee has selected me as the candidate for Atghoria upazila parishad chairman post. But I did not get many of my party men in campaign,” said Md Mobarak Hossain Panna, the upazila unit AL publicity secretary.

He faces two rebel candidates -- former upazila parishad chairman Md Isharat Ali and Md Tanvir Islam, son of the upazila unit AL secretary.

In Chatmohar upazila, AL nominee Sakhawat Hossain, also the upazila AL president, faces strong opposition from district AL Vice President Abdul Hamid Master, municipality AL Secretary Mirza Abu Hayat Mohammed Kamal and local AL leader Abdul Alim.

In Vangura upazila, AL nominee Md Baki Billah has to fight against four party rebels --  Mezbahur Rahman Rose, Amir Hossain Amir, Md Monsur Rahman and Md Mostafizur Rahman.

Faridpur Upazila Parishad Chairman Md Khalilur Rahman is in the election race against two strong opponents -- one from his party and another from BNP.

“I am contesting the election in response to the demand of local people,” said chairman candidate Md Johurul Islam Bokul, who was expelled from BNP for contesting the polls defying party decision.

AL's candidate Md Nuruzzaman Bishwas of Ishwardi upazila is in a tough situation as his key rival candidate Mokhlesur Rahman Mintu, secretary of upazila unit AL, gets support from a large section of local party activists.

AL nominees in Santhia and Sujanagar upazilas are also facing party rebels.

The ruling party nominated chairman candidates are set to win uncontested in Pabna Sadar and Sujanagar upazila parishads as there is no other contestants.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News