Country gets another division | The Daily Star
03:29 PM, September 14, 2015 / LAST MODIFIED: 04:10 PM, September 14, 2015

Country gets another division

The government has made Mymensingh division with Sherpur, Jamalpur, Mymenisngh, Netrakona districts.

It is the eighth administrative division of the country, Cabinet Secretary Musharraf Hossain Bhuiyan told reporters after a meeting of National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reforms (NICAR) at Cabinet division this afternoon.

The new Mymensingh division has a population of 1.23 crore, he added.

The two districts of greater Mymensingh -- Tangail and Kishoreganj -- will be part of the Dhaka division.

Meanwhile, Bhandaria upazila of Pirojpur district has been made Bhandaria Municipality, along with that Muradnagar Police Station under Comilla district has been split into two new police stations. One is Muradnagar Police station, whilst the other one is Bhangura Police Station.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina presided over the NICAR meeting.


Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News