Pro-AL panel sweeps DUTA polls
12:00 AM, December 05, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:35 AM, December 05, 2018

Pro-AL panel sweeps Duta election

Pro-Awami League “Blue” panel swept the Dhaka University Teachers' Association (Duta) election yesterday.

The panel achieved 14 posts in the 15-member executive committee while the “White” panel backed by BNP-Jamaat secured one.

Prof ASM Maksud Kamal of disaster science and management department was elected president for the third consecutive time with 1,036 votes. His rival, Prof Md Akhter Hossain Khan of "White" panel, bagged 453 votes.

Prof Shibli Rubayat Ul Islam, the dean of business studies faculty, won the post of general secretary with 805 votes, defeating Prof Lutfor Rahman of the "White" panel with 689 votes.

Prof Imdadul Hoque of botany was elected vice president.

Prof Tazin Aziz Chaudhury was elected joint secretary while Prof Mamtaz Uddin Ahmed of accounting and information systems won the treasurer post.

Nine other executive members elected from the "Blue" panel are Prof Aftab Ali Shaikh, Prof Nisar Hosain, Prof Zinat Huda, Prof Ziaur Rahman, Prof Nizamul Hoque Bhuiyan, Prof Sadeka Halim, Prof Sabita Rezwana Rahman, Prof Soumitra Shekhar and Associate Prof Chandra Nath Podder.

Prof Hasanuzzaman of Computer Science and Engineering was elected the lone executive member from White Panel.

A total of 1,550 teachers out of 1,988 cast their votes at the Dhaka University Teachers' Club.

Related Topics

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News