JnUTA election held | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, January 29, 2020 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:00 AM, January 29, 2020

JnUTA election held

A 15-member executive committee of Jagannath University Teachers’ Association (JnUTA) was elected for a one-year term yesterday, with Md Nure Alam Abdullah elected as president and Shamima Begum as general secretary. 

The polls were held at JnU Central Auditorium from 9am to 2:30pm. Chief Election Commissioner Prof Md Maniruzzaman Khandaker announced the results around 5pm.

Also elected were: Prof Mohammad Abdul Baki as vice-president, Prof Md Zahir Uddin Arif as treasurer and Prof Md Momin Uddin as joint-secretary. GM Al-Amin, Md Anwar Hossain, Numan Mahfuj, Muhammad Elias, Muhammad Rezaul Hossain, Md Imran Hossain, Shahana Akther, Md Abul Hossen, Protiva Rani Karmaker and Lutfurnahar were elected executive members of the committee.

Two factions of pro-Awami League teachers’ group ‘Blue Panel’ contested the polls as pro-BNP and Jamaat-e-Islami teachers’ group ‘White Panel’ did not take part.  Contacted for his comments on the election, JnU White Panel President Prof Mosharrraf Hossain declined to speak.

 A total of 524 out of 678 teachers cast their votes in the polls.


Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News