Four Star journos awarded | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, June 21, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:12 AM, June 21, 2019

Reporting on Indigenous Communities

Four Star journos awarded

Four journalists of The Daily Star yesterday received the IED Indigenous Affairs Journalist Award-2019 for their outstanding reporting on “Ethnic minority communities or indigenous people” between August 2018 to April 2019. 

Naimul Karim received the first prize for his report headlined “Indigenous Migrants: A story unheard” published on August 17, 2018 in the paper. The report presented a story on the dangerous journey of indigenous people across the Myanmar border.

Bishakha Devnath stood second for her report headlined “Battling to keep mother tongue alive: 3 Adivasi youths work online to preserve Chakma, Santal languages” published on February 21 this year.

The report told the story of three youngsters who developed their native languages on digital platforms to encourage members of their communities to learn and spread their mother tongue across the globe.

Sanjoy Kumar Barua was awarded in special category for his report headlined “Torchbearers in remote hills: Couple gives shelter, education to underprivileged indigenous girls” published on October 10 of last year.

Mostafa Shabuj was also awarded in special category for the report headlined “Trapped in uncertainty: Around 1,200 Santal families in Gaibandha yet to be rehabilitated 2 yrs after their houses were torched” published on November 6 last year.

Including them, a total of 12 journalists from different media houses received the award at a ceremony at the auditorium of Bishwo Shahitto Kendro. 

Institute for Environment and Development (IED) authorities handed over awards to winners, each receiving a certificate and crest, along with prize money for the top three. 

Among the other awardees, Saiful Islam Masum of Khola Kagoj secured third position. Others who were awarded in special category are Mehedi Hasan of Prothom Alo, Halim Al Raji and Md Saiful Islam of Dhaka Tribune, Sayed Shahin of Bonik Barta, Shakil Murad of Ekattor TV, Malek Mithu of DBC News and Uralmoni Chakma of Independent Television.

Speaking at the ceremony, IED coordinator Jyoti Chattopadhyay said such awards would encourage journalists to carry out more reporting on life of indigenous people.

With Dainik Sangbad acting editor Khandaker Moniruzzaman in the chair, IED assistant coordinator Harendranath Sing and Bangladesh Adivasi Forum General Secretary Sanjib Drong were also present at the ceremony, among others.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News