DMP’s traffic dept, DB get four new divisions | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, June 21, 2020 / LAST MODIFIED: 07:32 AM, June 21, 2020

DMP’s traffic dept, DB get four new divisions

15 new SP-ranked posts created; 28 get new roles

With an aim to keep a closer eye on Dhaka's traffic movement and crime detection, Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) authorities have increased four new Superintendent of Police (SP)-ranked officers' posts each, in Traffic Department and Detective Branch (DB).

Earlier, the DMP's traffic and DB had four separate divisions -- North, South, East and West -- and deputy commissioner (SP rank officer) used to take care of a each division's work.

Now, there will be eight SPs in eight divisions of traffic and DB police -- Uttara, Motijheel, Wari, Lalbagh, Tejgaon, Ramna, Mirpur and Gulshan, according to officials.

Walid Hossain, deputy commissioner (Media) of DMP, confirmed about creating new division. 

"We hope that we will get more effective results as some more police officials will start working in DB and traffic departments," he told The Daily Star yesterday.

Besides eight SP-rank new posts in DB and traffic department, DMP will also get three more SP-ranked posts in the Counter Terrorism and Transnational Crime (CTTC) unit.

DMP has also created three new departments -- Supreme and Special Court department, secretariat department and ICT department. An SP-ranked officer will monitor activities of these departments.

Along with it, the DMP headquarters has divided its state and development department into two new sections -- the state department and development department.

In a major development, DMP Commissioner Shafiqul Islam yesterday transferred 28 SP-ranked officers.

Welcoming the move, Golam Mostofa Rashel, who got appointed as Deputy Commissioner of DB Tejgaon Division, told this newspaper, "We will now be able to give more attention to the area, and detect crime promptly."  

According to the DMP office order, the seven others who got posted to DB police are Mashiur Rahman as DC Gulshan, HM Azimul Haque as DC Ramna, Manas Kumar Podder as DC Mirpur, Abdul Ahad as DC Wari, Rajib Al Masud as DC Lalbagh, Kazi Shafiqul Alam as DC Uttara and Md Asaduzzaman as DC Motijheel.

The traffic division officers are: Joydeb Chowdhury as DC Ramna, Saiful Hoque as DC Uttara, Shahed Al Masud as DC Tejgaon, Jashim Uddin Molla as DC Mirpur, Rabiul Islam as DC Gulshan, Wahidul Islam as DC Motijheel, Saidul Islam as DC Wari and Mehedi Hasan as DC Lalbagh.

The others who were given new postings are: AFM Mahtab Uddin as DC Supreme Court and Special Court Security Department, Shah Iftekhar Ahmed as DC Wari division, Tariq Bin Rashid as DC CT unit's admin and logistics division, Saiful Islam as DC CT unit's Investigation Department, Mahfuzul Islam as DC Counter Terrorism unit's Transnational Crime division, Abdul Mannan as DC CT uit's special Action group, Habibun Nabi Anisur Rashid as DC of CT unit's research and development department, Sharfiul Islam as DC of ICT department, Masum Ahmed as DC of crime unit of DMP HQ, Morshed Alam as DC Secretariat Department, AFM Al Kibria as DC CT unit's cyber crime division, and Mishuk Chakma as DC CT unit's intelligence analysis division.

According to sources, majority of these officials are from BCS 25th batch, who earlier got supernumerary promotion two years back and recently got regular promotion as SP.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News