All eyes on BNP’s MPs-elect | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, April 24, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 02:45 AM, April 24, 2019

All eyes on BNP’s MPs-elect

House goes into 2nd session today

The eleventh Jatiya Sangsad goes into its second session this afternoon with wide speculation on whether BNP’s MPs-elect will join after taking oath as lawmakers.

MPs-elect of BNP will have to risk losing their posts if they fail to take oath as lawmakers within April 29.

According to Article 67 (1) of the constitution, a member of parliament shall vacate his seat if he fails to take oath within 90 days from the date of the first meeting of parliament after being elected.

Speaker of the parliament, however, has the jurisdiction to extend the period for good cause.

The maiden session of the current parliament started on January 30 following the national election on December 30, 2018.

Awami League bagged a landslide victory securing 258 seats out of 300. BNP-led Jatiya Oikyafront got only eight seats. Gonoforum, a major component in the Oikyafront, got two seats.

Immediately after the election, Jatiya Oikyafront rejected the election result, citing widespread irregularities and vote rigging.

BNP and Gonoforum have been demanding fresh election, saying that their MPs-elect will not take oath and join the parliament.

Two MPs elect of Gonoforum -- Sultan Muhammad Monsur Ahmed from Moulvibazar-2 and Mukabbir Khan from Sylhet-2 -- however, took oath on March 7 and April 2 respectively, defying the party’s decision.

Monsur was expelled from the party. Gonoforum also said they will take action against Mukabbir, a presidium member of the party, for taking oath as MP, violating the party decision.

Eyes will now be on BNP’s MPs-elect to see whether they take oath or risk losing their seats.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir last week reiterated that the party’s MPs-elect will not take oath as lawmakers.

Duration of the second session of parliament will be brief, said sources at the parliament secretariat. The Business Advisory Committee of parliament will sit in a meeting before the House goes into session at 5pm to set duration and other matters. Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury will chair the meeting.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News