BNP, AL mayoral aspirants collect nomination forms | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, June 22, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 02:20 AM, June 22, 2018


BNP, AL mayoral aspirants collect nomination forms

The BNP is likely to nominate Mujibur Rahman Sarwar as mayoral candidate for Barisal City Corporation polls.

The party is also likely to keep trust on the incumbent mayors Mosaddek Hossain Bulbul and Ariful Huq Chowdhury in Rajshahi and Sylhet city corporation polls respectively.

The decisions were made at the party's nomination board meeting after holding interview of the 12 prospective party candidates at party chairperson's Gulshan office in Dhaka last night, according to party sources.

The formal announcement of the party candidates is likely to be on June 27 after observing the June 26 Gazipur city polls.

Meanwhile, the AL Local Government Nomination Board will sit today with party President Sheikh Hasina in the chair at 5:00pm at her official residence Gono Bhaban, to finalise party candidates.

Each of the 12 mayoral aspirants from ruling Awami League and BNP have collected nomination forms to get tickets from their parties for Rajshahi, Sylhet and Barisal city polls, scheduled to be held on July 30.

These three city polls are crucial for both parties, as they will serve as popularity tests for the parties ahead of the national polls, slated for December.

Both the camps have started preparing for the polls to Rajshahi, Barisal, and Sylhet city corporations much earlier than usual.

A total of 12 mayoral aspirants of the ruling party collected party nomination forms from party president's Dhanmondi office, while 12 BNP aspirants bought party forms from party headquarters at Naya Paltan over the last two days.

Both BNP and AL have decided to contest the election under their alliance banners, and to give nomination to a single candidate for each of the city corporation elections.

For BNP's tickets, Barisal's current Mayor Ahsan Habib Kamal, and BNP leaders Ebadul Huq Chan, Abu Naser Muhammad Rahmatullah, Afroja Khanam Nasrin, Bilkis Jahan and Ali Haider Babu; and for AL tickets, party leaders Serniabat Sadiq Abdullah, Zahid Faruque, Altaf Hossain Bulu, Mahmudul Haque Khan Mamun and Mir Amin Uddin Ahmed collected nomination forms from their parties.

For Sylhet, sitting Mayor Ariful Haque, BNP leaders Rejaul Kayes Hasan Lodi, Nasim Hosen, Badruzzaman Selim and Sanaullah Rimon collected BNP nomination forms while former city mayor Badaruddin Ahmed Kamran and AL leaders Asad Uddin Ahmed, Zakir Hossain, Fayzul Anwar, Azadur Rahman Azad and member of Bangladesh Football Federation Mohiuddin Ahmed bought AL nominations.

For Rajshahi, BNP leader Ruhul Kuddus Talukder Dulu and current Mayor Mosaddek Hossain Bulbul bought party nominations, while for AL ticket, only Rajshahi city AL president and former mayor Khairuzzaman Liton collected party nomination form.

Though AL will take decision about its candidates today, the party has already given green signal to AHM Khairuzzaman Liton and Badar Uddin Ahmed Kamran to start campaigning in their respective election areas.

In the last elections to Rajshahi, Sylhet and Barisal in 2013, AL mayoral candidates were defeated by their BNP counterparts. This time, the ruling party has taken the city polls seriously, aiming to win these to boost the morale of party activists ahead of the 11th national polls.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News