Home  -  Back Issues  -  The Team  Contact Us
Linking Young Minds Together
     Volume 2 Issue 93 | November 9 2008|


   News Room
   Science Feature
   Photo Feature

   Star Campus     Home


A magnificent show
4th NDF BD National Debate Festival-08

M.A. Kaioum, Ziaul Haque Suman, Safayet Hossain, Mossadek Hossain

A razzmatazz of creative dialogue with 1200 future leaders

“Kollolito Burigangar Sopno Vase, Char Sotoker Bake, Juktir Ucchase" with this slogan National Debate Federation Bangladesh (NDF BD) organized two-day grand 4th National Debate Festival-2008 in the capital which saw about 1200 debaters including 700 students from Dhaka .

On Nov.1 the inauguration ceremony began with the singing of the national anthem of Bangladesh. Women and Children Affairs Adviser Rasheda K Chowdhury inaugurated the gala ceremony at Shaheed Zia Auditorium of National Museum. At the inaugural ceremony ,the National Debate Federation Bangladesh also honored Mahfuz Anam, editor and publisher of The Daily Star with Life-time Achievement Award in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the country's debating culture.

Earlier, a colourful rally was brought out from National Museum which ended at the TSC premise. Pro Vice Chancellor of Dhaka University Prof. AFM Yusuf Haider, Chairman of NDF BD A.K.M Shoaib and General Secretary M Safayet Hossain joined the rally along with the students. At the inaugural ceremony, debaters took the oath of never taking drugs, never committing repression on women and never resorting to corruption.

While receiving the life-time achievement award, Mahfuz Anam said the debaters should widen their knowledge base and improve proficiency to do better in debate and to be competent in the present competitive world. He said the main difference between argument and debate is that one can present an argument without having any knowledge about the topic, but one must have proper knowledge to on debate any issue. Pro Vice Chancellor of Dhaka University Prof. AFM Yusuf Haider, Country Manager of the Commercial Bank of Ceylon, Senior Director (Education) of Save the Children, USA Pablo Stanbary , Country Director of Tex-Ebo International Pvt Ltd. Abdullah Hil Rakib, Managing Director of Radio Amar Zulfikar Ahmed spoke on the inauguration program as special guests .

The festival drew an enthusiastic participation from more than 60 universities,15 medial colleges,99 colleges,105 schools, 6 madrasas and 9 debate organizations.

Speaking as a special guest AFM Yusuf Haider defined the festival as one of the largest programmes in the debate arena of Bangladesh.

AKM Shoaib, Chairman of National Debate Federation Bangladesh rightly mentioned that this festival was the congregation of free thinking, moderate people who want to shed off all stagnancy of thoughts and become moderate global human beings. He thanked the sponsors of the programme for their contribution. He also described how NDF BD members had been relentlessly giving their utmost in making the festival successful.

Apart from the debates, other programmes also went on side by side during these two days that included free rendezvous (Meet the personalities ), eight categories debate workshop and model debates (stage debate), Public speaking competition, a colorful cultural programme , visiting national museum to mark 400 years of Dhaka city and a camp fire .

Award winners
Dhaka University and Daffodil International University won the best university awards among the universities in Dhaka and Rajshahi University and Chittagonj University won the same from outside of Dhaka category. Eden Girls College and Barishal B M College won the best college award. Rajuk Uttora Model School and Kushtia Zilla School won the best school award. In the individual category Mr. Razib Sharkar a former debater of Dhaka University won the best debater award for his tremendous achievement in debate.

Best Organizer Award winners
Mazed, Mosaddek, Sumon, Irteza, Zaman, Bappa, Uttom, Fuad, Nayeem, Ishat, Sizer, Ishtiak, Nafis, Kudrat, Saiful, Bipasha, Rimun, Robiul, Dip, Ratul, Ovi, Mithu, Anna, Moon, Fahad, Nazmul, Momena, Fazle Elahi, Himel, Sajib, Rafel, Safa, Mahdi, Masum, Somon, received the prestigious Best Organizer Award for their great contribution as a member of festival organizing committee.

Sponsor Institutions:
Commercial Bank of Ceylon, Save the Children, Tex-Ebo International, Archies,

Alpine, AIUB, TRZ group, UPS, Dhaka Imperial College, Rising Group, Mutual Trust Bank Ltd., Monno Ceramics, DEVA Group, Kanchi Resturant, Ekushey Gift Corner & Impression Media Communication.

Radio Partner: Radio Amar
(Contact: www.ndfbd.org)

Copyright (R) thedailystar.net 2008