StanChart announces fourth edition of Agrow Award | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, September 13, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:34 AM, September 13, 2017

StanChart announces fourth edition of Agrow Award

Standard Chartered Bangladesh yesterday announced the commencement of the fourth edition of Agrow Award, to recognise the exemplary contributions of farmers and organisations in the country's agriculture sector.

The bank along with its implementation partner Bangladesh Brand Forum made the announcement at a press briefing at Sonargaon Hotel in Dhaka yesterday.

“We are delighted to be having this award for the fourth time,” said Bitopi Das Chowdhury, country head for corporate affairs at Standard Chartered Bangladesh.

“Through this award, we hope to honour individuals and institutions who serve as outstanding examples in the agriculture sector of Bangladesh.”

The awards will be given in seven categories: Farmer of the Year (male), Farmer of the Year (female), Farmer of the Year (subsistence market farmer group), Best Agricultural Organisation in Research and Innovation, Best Agricultural Organisation in Support and Execution, Best Agricultural Exporter, and Best Use of Technology in Agriculture.

“Over the last few decades, our agriculture sector has made giant strides forward,” Chowdhury said.

“With our involvement in this sector as the oldest financial institution in the country, and through initiatives such as the Agrow Award, it has been a privilege for us to be a part of this remarkable growth story.”

Individuals and organisations can submit nominations for the award until October 5 and the award ceremony will take place in November.

The winners of farmer categories will be honoured with prize money of Tk 5 lakh each to help them expand their contribution to agriculture while honourable mentions in each farmer category will be presented Tk 50,000 each.

Shariful Islam, managing director of Bangladesh Brand Forum, explained the philosophy behind the initiative of Agrow Award.

He said Bangladesh's agriculture sector is an exemplary model in sustainable food production to the rest of the world, and Agrow Award recognises the farmers and institutions who are relentlessly working to meet this vital need of a growing population.

“This year, Agrow Award 2017 starts with the countrywide call for nomination, moves on to primary selection, short listing and verification, expert jury sessions, final selection, and eventually the award handover.”

Last year, seven awards were given. Of the winners, Hosne Ara Begum, who was recognised as the Farmer of the Year (female), said, “I bought cows and set up a cattle farm with the prize money. “From the farm, I earned Tk 1.5 lakh by a year. My success inspired others in my village.”  

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star News App. Click here to download it for your device.

fifa world cup

Grameenphone and Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News