08:34 AM, December 30, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 07:18 PM, December 30, 2018

Voting suspended at 22 centres: EC secy

Voting was suspended at 22 polling centres throughout the country, Election Commission Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed said this afternoon.

He said this while talking to reporters at the Nirbachan Bhaban this afternoon just two hours after Bangladesh’s 11th parliamentary election closed.

Our local correspondents reported voting was suspended at one centre in Noakhali-3 and three centres in Lalmonirhat-3 constituencies.

In Noakhali-3 constituency, voting was suspended after unidentified criminals allegedly took away all election materials early today.

The voting was suspended at East Babunagar Govt Primary School in Begumganjupazila this morning, our local correspondent reports quoting Assistant Returning Officer Md Ruhul Amin.

The voting will remain suspended at the centre till redistribution of the election materials, he added.

In Lalmonirhat-3 constituency, voting was suspended at a voting centre in PurboShaththana Primary Government School, said presiding officer Sagar Kumar Ray. The voting was suspended following a clash between Jatiya Party and BNP supporters.

In another centre in the same constituency, Bangladesh Border Guard suspended voting at Nesaria Kamil Madrasah centre around 12:30pm following a clash between Jatiya Party and BNP supporters, said presiding officer AbdurRouf.

Meanwhile, our reporter who is visiting voting centres around Lalmonirhat-3 constituency further reported voting was suspended at another centre, Lalmonirhat Government High School and Lalmonirhat Government Girls' High School. 

The reporter also saw members of Jatiya Party men inside the voting centres stuffing the ballot.

Meanwhile, our Lalmonirhat correspondent and staff reporter visiting the district said they came to know from the voters that voting in almost all the 89 polling centres of the constituency were suspended around 12noon.

Also in Chapainawabganj-1, four centres - Char Jogonnathpur High School centre, Char Hasanpur Government Primary Schoolcentre, Umarpur Government Primary School centre and NamoChakpara Government Primary School.

Our local correspondent quotes Assistant Returning Officer Chowdhury Rawshan Islam to report the incident.

Leave your comments