08:34 PM, December 23, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 09:08 PM, December 23, 2018

8 hopefuls file plea with SC to regain candidacy

Eight upazila chairmen, who lost their candidacies from the High Court, today filed separate petitions with the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court in order to regain their candidacy.

They submitted the petitions to the apex court through their lawyers seeking stay on the HC orders and to direct the Election Commission to allow them to contest the December 30 general election.

The chamber judge of the apex court may hold hearing on the petitions tomorrow, Advocate Shah Monjurul Hoque, the lawyers for the writ petitioners who challenged the candidacies of the upazila chairmen, told The Daily Star.    

The eight upazila chairmen who lost their candidacy following the HC orders are: Khondokar Abu Ashfaq for Dhaka-1, Faridul Kabir Talukdar (BNP) for Jamalpur-4, Fazlur Rahman (BNP) for Joypurhat-1, Abdul Majid (BNP) for Jhenidah-2, Mahmud Hasan Suman (Awami League’s rival and independent) for Mymensingh-8, Abu Sayeed Chan (BNP) for Rajshahi-6, Md Asaduzzaman (Awami League’s rival and independent) for Rangpur-1, and Md Moslem Uddin (BNP) Brahmanbaria-4, he said.  

Following separate writ petitions, the HC recently disqualified them from contesting the December 30 general election as their resignations from the posts of upazila chairmen were not accepted by the government.

A total of 18 candidates, including 15 BNP contenders, have lost candidacy following orders from the Appellate and HC Divisions on different grounds.

Leave your comments