Latai honours distinguished poets | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, March 25, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:36 AM, March 25, 2019

Latai honours distinguished poets

Latai organised a prize-giving ceremony for the third consecutive year, titled, 'Chhorashahitto Puroskar Prodan Anushthan' on March 23 at Bishwo Shahitto Kendro, where poets were awarded for their noteworthy literary works in 2017 and 2018 under different categories. In the ceremony, the eighth edition of Latai, the Faruk Hossain Shongkha, edited by poet Mamun Sarwar, was unveiled in front of the audience. As a publication, Latai aims to work with poets and writers from different generations to preserve the essence of Bangla Literature.

The ceremony started with a welcoming address by Mamun Sarwar and included speeches by poets  Akhter Hossain, Alam Talukdar, Aslam Sunny and Amirul Islam. Noted poet and Director General of Bangla Academy Habibullah Siraji was the chief guest while writer Ali Emam presided over the session.

Habibullah Siraji congratulated the winners and stated that Bangla Academy will always support promising literary professionals and their work and that our community needs to work to improve the current state of Bangla Literature.

For 2018, Anjir Liton, Romen Raihan, Wasif A Khoda, Nihar Mosharraf and Ahmad Shadhin were announced as the winners of the Chhorashahitto Puroshkar. For 2017, Faruk Nawaz, FarukHossain, Hasan Hafiz, SM Shamsul Alam, Ahmed Sabbir, Addoita Marut Chhoray and Moin Mursaleen were awarded. Poet Faruk Hossain received the lifetime achievement award from Habibullah Siraji and Ali Emam.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News