Mrittika Maya | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, March 12, 2015 / LAST MODIFIED: 04:12 PM, April 21, 2015

Mrittika Maya

Sweeps National Film Awards 2013
Staff Correspondent

Gazi Rakayat-directed “Mrittika Maya” has taken home a whooping 17 awards in the 2013 National Film Awards, announced by the Information Ministry on Tuesday. It is the highest number of awards for a single film at the National level, beating Amzad Hossain's “Golapi Ekhon Train-e” (1978) by a fair margin. 

“Mrittika Maya” took was announced winner for Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor in a Leading Role (Titas Zia), Best Actress in a Leading Role (Shormimala – jointly with Moushumi for “Debdas”), Best Actor and Actress in Supporting Roles (Raisul Islam Asad and Aparna), Best Actor in a Negative Role (Mamunur Rashid), Best Music Director (AK Azad – jointly with Shawkat Ali Emon for “Purno Doirgho Prem Kahini”), – and for story, screenplay, dialogues (all three to Rakayat), editing, art direction, cinematography, sound editing, costume and make-up. 

Sarah Begum Kobori was named recipient for the Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Chandan Sinha won Best Singer (Male) for “Tumi Acho Bole Tara Nebhe Jole” from “Purno Doirgho Prem Kahini”, while iconic figures Sabina Yasmin and Runa Laila shared the Best Singer (Female) for “Bhalobeshe Ekbar Kadale Na Amake” and “E Jibon Dhoop'er Moto Gondho Bilaye”. Kabir Bakul won Best Lyricist (“Purno Doirgho Prem Kahini”), while Koushik Hossain Taposh won Best Composer for the same film. 

The only other feature films to have taken any award were “Ek'I brinte” for child artiste Shwoccho, and “Antardhan”, in a special category for child artiste Syeda Ohida Sabrina. Kamar Ahmed Simon's internationally-acclaimed “Shunte Ki Pao!” was expectedly named Best Documentary. 

Leave your Comments