Bangladesh Cricket: Imrul, Shehzad take Comilla home
03:21 PM, November 29, 2016 / LAST MODIFIED: 05:23 PM, November 29, 2016

Bangladesh Premier League 2016

Cricket: Imrul, Shehzad take Comilla home

93-run opening stand between Imrul Kayes and Ahmed Shehzad enabled Comilla Victorians to chase down Barisal’s 142 and win the 32nd match of Bangladesh Premier League 2016 by eight wickets at Mirpur stadium today.

Chasing 143, Comilla openers gave their team the perfect start as their positive batting kept the Barisal bowlers at bay. Imrul scored 46 from 35 while Shehzad smashed 61 from 56 balls with five fours to his name. Marlon Samuels ensured no more hiccups in the end by hitting 27 from 18 as Comilla registered their second win in the ongoing BPL after nine matches.

Rumman Raees and Dawid Malan were the only bowlers for Barisal to take a wicket today.

Earlier, Comilla Victorians led by Mashrafe Mortaza kept Barisal Bulls down to 142 for 8 after 20 overs.

Bulls skipper Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss and decided to bat first. Comilla bowlers didn’t allow the Barisal batters to build any significant partnerships, and took wickets at crucial junctures of the contest to hurt Barisal’s chances of a challenging total. The ninth wicket stand of 25 in just 1.2 overs gave Barisal the late boost they needed desperately.

For Comilla, Nabil Samad was the most successful bowler for his team today, and he took three wickets for 17 runs in four overs. Rashid Khan captured two while Shahadat Hossain and Mohammad Saifuddin chipped in with a wicket each.


Barisal Bulls: 142/8 (20 overs)

Mushfiqur 29, Mendis 28, Nabil 3-17

Comilla Victorians: 145/2 (19.0/20 ov)

Shehzad 61, Imrul 46, Malan 1-8

Result: Comilla Victorians win by 8 wickets (with 6 balls remaining)

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone and Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News