• Wednesday, March 04, 2015

Bangladesh Premier League 2013-14

Abahani go top

Sports Reporter

Title contenders Abahani took solo lead in the Bangladesh Premier League after beating promoted Uttar Baridhara Club 2-0 at the Bangabandhu National Stadium yesterday.
Earlier, Muktijoddha Sangsad also recorded an identical 2-0 win over Chittagong Abahani to move to fourth position with 10 points from six outings, six behind the new league leaders.
Having played a match less than Abahani's six, Sheikh Jamal are in second position with 13 points while holders Sheikh Russel KC are in third position with 10 points from six matches by virtue of superior goal difference.
Abahani gave little room to newcomers Uttar Baridhara and took the lead in the 12th minute with a strike from midfielder Shahedul Alam Shahed.
Shahed was played a cut-back by Osei Morison from the right side touch line and the former national midfielder made room on his left to drive a low left-footer past goalkeeper Piaruzzaman to put Abahani ahead.
Abahani doubled the lead three minutes into the second half following a miscued clearance from defender Rony. Winger Towhidul Alam put a lob inside the box and Rony cleared it with a weak header, which went straight to Awudu Ibrahim and the Ghanaian hitman drove a powerful shot from the edge of the box to ensure Abahani's fifth victory in six matches.
In the earlier match, Muktijoddha Sangsad dominated the proceedings against Chittagong Abahani to notch up their third victory in six matches, thanks to a brace from Nigerian hitman Nkwocha Kingsley.

Muktijoddha Sangsad took the lead through Kingsley, who saw his header off an Eleta Kingsley cross find the back of Chittagong Abahani net kissing the far post.
After resumption, the ball was mostly confined in the midfield and Nkwocha ensured the victory four minutes before the end by scoring his fourth goal of the league from inside the box.  

Published: 12:00 am Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Last modified: 5:08 pm Wednesday, January 29, 2014

TAGS: bangladesh premier league Muktijoddha Sangsad Chittagong Abahani Uttar Baridhara Club .

Leave your comments | Comment Policy
ICC Cricket World Cup