10:05 PM, May 21, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

Speaker to attend Modi’s swearing-in

Speaker to attend Modi’s swearing-in

Unb, Dhaka
Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury
Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury will attend Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony as India’s new Prime Minister on May 26.

“The Speaker will represent Bangladesh in India’s next Prime Minister’s swearing-in ceremony,” State Minister for Foreign Affairs M Shahriar Alam told the news agency. 

Earlier, India invited Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina or her designated representative to attend the function at Modi’s request. Prime Minister is scheduled to visit Japan from May 25-28.

Narendra Modi invited the leaders of Bangladesh, Pakistan and other neighbours to his oath-taking ceremony as prime minister on Monday next, in a bold step to embark on a policy of regional engagement.

Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai has reportedly confirmed that he will attend the ceremony, report Indian media.  

“The invitation being extended to the Saarc countries is a responsible gesture and as per protocol being sent by the GoI via the MEA (sic),” BJP spokesperson Nirmala Sitharaman tweeted.

The Saarc nations include India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan.

The BJP has already indicated that Modi will work to a re-crafted foreign policy.


Leave your comments