12:00 AM, February 02, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

Rajshahi ride on Taijul spin

Rajshahi ride on Taijul spin

Sports Reporter

Young left-arm spinner Taijul Islam spun Rajshahi to a 93-run victory over Sylhet on the third day of the four-day National Cricket League match at the Fatullah Cricket Stadium yesterday.
Chasing a 169-run winning target Sylhet were caught in the spin web of Taijul, who got six wickets to wrap up Sylhet's second innings for 75. Taijul returned with a 10-wicket match haul and also had a notable contribution with the bat to receive the man of the match award. Another left-armer, Saqlain Sajib, also made made substantial contributions by taking eight wickets to put Sylhet's left-arm spinner Enamul Haque's nine-wicket haul in the shade.
At the Shaheed Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi, Dhaka were on the brink of a victory against Rangpur. Following on in reply to a mammoth first innings total by Dhaka, Rangpur's tail-enders denied Dhaka an extra day of rest by taking the match to the final day.    
At the Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium in Khulna, the hosts were in a comfortable position after taking a 128-run lead with eight wickets in hand in the second innings against Barisal. Chittagong, meanwhile, need 253 more runs with eight wickets in hand on the final day against Dhaka Metro at the Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogra.


KHULNA: 357 and 23-2 in 9 overs (Tushar 17 not out; Kamrul 2-18)
BARISAL: 252 all out in 84.1 overs (Nuruzzaman 51, Kamrul 63; Mashrafe 2-35, Rajibul 5-95)
DHAKA: 616 for 7 dec.
RANGPUR: 351 all out in 84.1 overs (Pappu 78, Ariful 64, Sajedul 61 not out; Shahadat 2-38, Sharif 3-49, Sabbir 3-47) and 190-7 in 39 overs (Saymon 61, Tanvir 43 not out, Ariful 34 not out; Shahadat 2-23, Sharif 3-45)
DHAKA METRO: 221 and 289 all out in 90.5 overs (Shohid 64; Aftab 4-28)
CHITTAGONG: 195 and 63-2 in 19 overs (Nafis 30 not out; Shohid 2-20)
RAJSHAHI: 217 and 195 all out in 70.4 overs (Taijul 43, Forhad 37; Enamul 5-85)
SYLHET: 244 and 75 all out in 29 overs (Ezaj 26: Taijul 6-33, Saqlain 2-7)
Result: Rajshahi Division won by 93 runs.


Leave your comments