12:00 AM, March 26, 2009 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, March 26, 2009

10 HC judges sworn in

Share this with

Copy this link
Staff Correspondent

Ten High Court (HC) judges, who were reappointed on Tuesday, were sworn in at the judges' lounge of the Supreme Court yesterday.
Chief Justice (CJ) MM Ruhul Amin administered the oath where all the judges of the Appellate Division and HC Division were present.
The judges are Md Abdus Salam, Md Mamtazuddin Ahmed, Md Shamsul Huda, Faruque Ahmed, Hasan Foez Siddique, Md Abdul Hye, Md Abdur Razzaque, Marzi-ul Huq, Md Nizamul Huq and AHM Shamsuddin Chowdhury.
After the oath-taking ceremony, they joined their offices yesterday afternoon, sources said.
President Zillur Rahman on Tuesday appointed them as per Article 95(1) of the Constitution.
The number of the HC judges now stands at 72.
Jobs of the 10 judges were not confirmed during the four-party alliance government despite the CJ's positive recommendations.
On March 2, the Appellate Division upheld the HC verdict, asking the government to reappoint the judges. The apex court, however, did not allow the government to give them seniority although the HC in its verdict gave the order to that end.
The judges were appointed as additional HC judges for two years at the fag end of the previous Awami League regime.

Leave your comments

Share this with

Copy this link