12:00 AM, January 12, 2013 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, January 12, 2013

Young Tigers cricket from Jan 14

Share this with

Copy this link
Sports Reporter

The 'Young Tigers National U18 Cricket Competition', a tournament that will feature 'three-day' matches between cricketers from the seven districts of the country, will begin on January 14.
The competition, which will be contested by 10 teams and played in five venues, will be conducted with an aim to build a formidable Under-19 team for the upcoming World Cup in 2013. The players, after an age verification programme, participated in a 50-over divisional competition. Players selected from the competition were then hardened through a skill camp, following which the divisional teams were formed.
“The age level competition is obviously very important. These tournaments have resulted in the creation of a number of talented players,” said Gazi Ashraf Lipu, chairman of the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) Game Development Committee, at a press conference at the BCB headquarters yesterday.
The ten teams have been divided into two groups. Dhaka South, Khulna, Rangpur, Dhaka Metro and Chittagong have been placed in group A while Group B is made up of Dhaka North, Rajshahi, Sylhet, Barisal and BKSP.
The matches will be played at the Shaheed Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi, Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogra, Cricket Garden in Rangpur, the Dinajpur district stadium and the Dinajpur Boro Moidan Ground. The finals will begin on February 14 in Rajshahi.

Leave your comments

Share this with

Copy this link