Pro-BNP, left-leaning teachers win Juta polls | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, December 30, 2012 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, December 30, 2012

Pro-BNP, left-leaning teachers win Juta polls

Sammilito Shikkhak Parishad, a panel of teachers belonging to the opposition BNP, left-leaning parties, and a faction of Awami League (AL), swept the Jahangirnagar University Teachers' Association (Juta) election yesterday, winning 12 posts of the 15-member executive committee.
The new committee will lead Juta for the next one year.
The opposition panel, "Mukti Juddher Pokkher Shakti”, made up of pro-AL teachers backed by former vice chancellor Prof Shariff Enamul Kabir, won only three posts--that of the vice president and two members.
Prof Ajit Kumar Mazumder was elected as president, Prof Md Shareef Uddin as general secretary, Prof Khandakar Md Shariful Huda as treasurer, and Prof Md Kamruzzan as joint secretary, all belonging to Sammilito Shikkhak Parishad.
Vice President-elect Prof Farid Ahmed contested from "Mukti Juddher Pokkher Shakti”. The two elected members from this panel are Prof Syed Hafizur Rahman and Assistant Prof Hosne Ara Bebi.
The other elected members are Associate Prof KM Mahi Uddin, Prof Mahbub Karim, Prof Md Abdullah Khan, Prof Aminul Islam Durjoy, Associate Prof Fazlul Karim Patwary, Prof Manwar Hossain, Associate Prof Mutahar Hossain, and Prof Md Shamsul Alam.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone and Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News