12:00 AM, November 24, 2012 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, November 24, 2012

ODI Squad Announced

Gazi makes the cut

Share this with

Copy this link
Sports reporter

Off-spinner Shohag Gazi, who has impressed in the ongoing Test series between Bangladesh and West Indies, has been rewarded with a berth in Bangladesh's 14-man squad for the first two one day internationals, which was announced yesterday.
Gazi has picked up eleven wickets in the series so far and has been Mushfiqur Rahim's go-to bowler.
Apart from Gazi, Rubel Hossain and Naeem Islam are the other two players who have returned to the side after missing out during the Asia Cup, which took place in March this year.
Rubel, who returned from a shoulder injury, impressed the selectors with his effort in the Test series. Naeem's inclusion in the squad was propelled by his maiden Test century in the second innings of the first Test match.
Young Abul Hasan, who became only the fourth person in the history of Test cricket to score a century while batting at number ten, was also named in the squad. The young pacer made a late entry into the Asia Cup squad in March, following Shafiul Islam's injury. He, however, didn't make it to the playing eleven.
Imrul Kayes, Elias Sunny, Nazmul Hossain, Shahadat Hossain and Nazimuddin, who were a part of the ODI squad during the Asia Cup were dropped by the selectors.
“Nazmul Hossain is injured and isn't fit enough to be in the team. Nazimuddin hasn't been performing well lately and he didn't get too many runs during the Asia Cup,” said Akram Khan, Chief Selector of the Bangladesh cricket team. The selection committee also backed their quickest bowlers for the ODIs-Abul and Rubel- as a result of which, Shahadat Hossain had to miss out.
Kayes's exclusion was mainly due to his lean form with the bat in domestic cricket, where as the inclusion of Gazi, alongside Shakib Al Hasan and Abdur Razzak, meant that there was no room for Sunny in the team.
Bangladesh and West Indies will each play one warm-up game before the beginning of the series. The first two ODIs will take place in the Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium in Khulna on November 30 and December 2 respectively. The players will then return to Dhaka to play the remaining three ODIs and one Twenty20.
Squad for the first two ODIs: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt & wk), Mahmudu-llah, Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Jahurul Islam, Naeem Islam, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Abdur Razzak, Abul Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Masrafe Bin Mortaza, Shafiul Islam.
Imrul kayes, Elias Sunny, Nazmul Hossain, Shahadat Hossain and Nazimuddin
Shohag Gazi, Naeem Islam, Abul Hasan

Leave your comments

Share this with

Copy this link