SL name team for tri-series | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, August 08, 2010 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, August 08, 2010

SL name team for tri-series

Sri Lanka have left out left-arm seamer Chanaka Welegedara and batsman Thilina Kandamby for the tri-series, which begins on August 10 in Dambulla. Chamara Silva, who last played in the tri-series also involving India and Zimbabwe in May and June, makes a return, as does fast bowler Dilhara Fernando. Sri Lanka have also picked allrounder Thisara Perera, who was the leading wickettaker in the one-day games on the A tour of Australia in June and July.
Muttiah Muralidaran, who recently retired from Tests, was rested, though he has made himself available for selection for the 2011 World Cup.
Silva, at one point, was a regular in Sri Lanka's middle order until a series of low scores cost him his place in the Asia Cup. Fernando played in the second Test against India at the SSC, while Perera represented Sri Lanka in 10 ODIs and was also part of the Chennai Super Kings squad in the IPL. The other participating teams in the tri-series are India and New Zealand and all the matches will be held in Dambulla.
Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Mahela Jayawardene, Chamara Silva, Thisara Perera, Dilhara Fernando, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone and Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News