04:28 AM, July 14, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

Messi wins Golden Ball

Messi wins Golden Ball

Golden Boot Rodriguez's, Gloves Neuer's
Afp, Rio de Janeiro

Lionel Messi, who lost out on the World Cup title after Argentina's 1-0 loss to Germany in Sunday's final, was named the Golden Ball winner of the tournament.
The Barcelona legend and four-time Player of the Year was a key part in Argentina's march to the Maracana stadium, picking up four man-of-the-match performances.
He scored four goals at the tournament, but failed to pick up the one honour eluding him after Germany substitute Mario Goetze's 113th minute goal dashed the South Americans' dream of a third title.
Colombia's young striker James Rodriguez claimed the Golden Boot with six goals. Despite his country going out at the quarterfinal stage the 23-year-old's haul was never matched. Among his half dozen goals was the magical chest and volley against Uruguay.
The Monaco forward, who stepped in manfully to fill the void left by Colombia's injured Radamel Falcao, also scored in the 2-1 quarterfinal loss to Brazil. He got a second against Uruguay in the last 16 game, and one in each of Colombia's first-round matches against Ivory Coast, Greece and Japan.
Germany's Thomas Mueller ended up in second place with five goals. Messi, injured Brazil star Neymar and Dutch striker Robin van Persie, shared third spot with four each.
Germany goalkeeper Manuel Neuer won the Golden Glove award for the tournament's best goalkeeper.
The 28-year-old Bayern Munich beat off competition from Argentine opposite number Sergio Romero and Keylor Navas of surprise package Costa Rica. Neuer was beaten only four times in the tournament and kept clean sheets in the 1-0 quarter-final win over France and the victory over Argentina in the final.
He succeeds Spain's Iker Casillas, who was voted outstanding goalkeeper at the 2010 tournament in South Africa.


Leave your comments