• Saturday, February 28, 2015


India beat Tigers by 6 wickets

Star Online Report

Bangladesh 279/7 (50 ov)

India 280/4 (49 ov)

India won by 6 wickets


Bangladesh skipper Mushfiqur Rahim and Anamul Haque sprints for a run during their 133-run third wicket partnership that set the bedrock for a solid 279-run total against India in Asia Cup today. Photo: Firoz Ahmed
Bangladesh skipper Mushfiqur Rahim and Anamul Haque sprint for a run during their 133-run third wicket partnership that set the bedrock for a solid 279-run total against India in Asia Cup today. Photo: Firoz Ahmed

Virat Kohli struck yet another century in a tight chase to take India past a challenging total of 279 posted by Bangladesh at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah, Narayanganj today.

India beat the Tigers by six wickets, thanks to Kohil's 19th ODI century, as his 136 came from just 122 balls and consisted of 16 boundaries and two sixes.

Ajinkya Rahane played the perfect foil to kohli's onslaught with a composed 73 from 83 balls.

India chased down the target with one over to spare after Tigers dismissed both the Indian openers within 54 runs after a sluggish start by them following a series of tight overs from Bangladesh seamers in the early goings of their innings.

Earlier, skipper Mushfiqur Rahim's ton and opener Anamul Haque Bijoy's rocksolid half-century steered Bangladesh to a concrete footing in their first Asia Cup match against India.

Bangladesh scored 279 runs off 50 overs with a run rate of 5.58.

The 133-run third-wicket partnership of the duo brought the Tigers to a competitive level against the defending world champions.

Mushfiq scored 117 runs off 113 deliveries garnished with seven fours and two sixes while Bijoy added 77 runs to the scoreboard off 106 balls with five boundaries and three over the ropes.

Indian fast bowler Mohammed Shami picked up four wickets for 50 runs while other pacers -- Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Varun Aaron and spinner Ravichandran Ashwin picked up one wicket each.

Bangladesh got 18 extra runs to the scoreboard.

India depend on its three top-order -- Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma and the skipper Virat Kohli while Bangladeshi skipper has three seamers -- Rubel Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza, Ziaur Rahman and two spinners Abdur Razzak and Sohag Gazi.

Winning the toss, India decided to bowl.

Two key players -- opener Tamim Iqbal and all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan -- are not playing in the match.

Tamim remains out of the match due to injury while Shakib due to a three-match ban he received for indecent gesture during the second ODI against Sri Lanka.

The hosts will try their best to shrug off the memory of the whitewash Sri Lanka handed them in the just concluded three-match ODI series.



Shamsur Rahman, Anamul Haque (wk), Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (c), Nasir Hossain, Naeem Islam, Ziaur Rahman, Sohag Gazi, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak and Rubel Hossain.


S Dhawan, RG Sharma, V Kohli (c), AT Rayudu, AM Rahane, KD Karthik (wk), RA Jadeja, R Ashwin, B Kumar, Mohammed Shami and VR Aaron.


Published: 12:49 am Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Last modified: 10:06 pm Wednesday, February 26, 2014

TAGS: Bangladesh cricket India Asia Cup 2014 Fatullah Stadium

Leave your comments | Comment Policy
ICC Cricket World Cup