12:00 AM, January 28, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

Kids not for welcoming ministers

Kids not for welcoming ministers

Govt warns schools
Staff Correspondent

The government yesterday asked primary schools across the country not to line up their students on the streets to welcome any public representative.
The primary and mass education ministry issued a circular warning school headmasters and governing bodies of legal action for violation of the order.
The government order came in the wake of a media outcry over the recent incidents of queuing up of students on the roadsides to welcome ministers and lawmakers given reception.
Earlier in December 2009, the education ministry had come up with a similar directive, asking the educational institutions to stop the practice of making students line up on roads to welcome dignitaries.
Following the order, students were rarely seen in such an arrangement. But the practice reappeared as the Awami League-led alliance assumed office for the second consecutive time and the lawmakers and ministers made visits to their constituencies.
By lining up students on the streets the school authorities hinder academic activities, the primary and mass education ministry stated in the circular issued yesterday.
It added such practice impacts negatively on the body and mind of students, which is undesirable.  
The ministry also sought everyone's cooperation to put an end to this practice to ensure learning atmosphere in the schools.
Meanwhile, Education Minister Nurul Islam Nahid urged all concerned not to make students queue up on roads, abandoning their classes.
"Any programme can be arranged inside the school premises to honour a guest," he said while speaking at a workshop at National Curriculum and Textbook Board in the capital.
A total of 34 eminent citizens yesterday demanded an end to the practice and that the ministry's instructions be obeyed.
In a statement, they said children should not be used in political activities.
Prof Anisuzzaman, Prof Jamilur Reza Choudhury, Prof Muhammad Zafar Iqbal, Prof Nazrul Islam, Quazi Kholiquzzaman Ahmad, Selina Hossain, Prof Syed Manzoorul Islam, Prof MM Akash, Rasheda K Choudhury, Iftekharuzzaman and Shaheen Anam are among the signatories of the statement.


Leave your comments